LPfiction

Reviews

Love Over Linkin Park by Penelope_Ink

Add review

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-06

Chapter: 4

Jay, have a bit more trust in Mike here! It might be hard when he has seen him being used by assholes before but this time... it's different! It's Chester, and he seems pretty nice, even though he is as terrible in having a casual conversation as Mike is. Which is hilarious and I like the awkwardness between them, so so so much! Poor them but happy me :D


All the moments that one gets reminded of Mike being in a wheelchair... I need to admit that I never thought of any of those things. Like not never never, but not in such detail. Yes, stairs are obviously a problem, but there is so much more and that is picked up on really nicely in the story and it adds to Mike as a character! Knowing what he can do and can't do, reading what's on his mind, seeing what he manages to do and what not. That gives us quite some insight.


What else? Talinda and Sam xD Great additions! Made me laughing and cursing and everything in between. And now I can't wait and see what's up next for our two lovely boys!!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-07-01

Chapter: 4

Okay, first of all I have to tell you how much i LOVE this little story! It was great to meet Jason, and that he convinced Mike to actually go see Chester in the store, but what he was thinking about working in a pet shop not being a great career was kind of mean. Then Mike's trouble with the door! Oh my.


Also, I have to tell something that I noticed a while ago. Everytime you describe something food/cooking related, it's so detailed and well done, and I wish could describe it like that, too :) (Okay, end of fangirling now)


It was funny to see how you included Sam, someone we all hate for obvious reasons xD Mike being so afraid of the scorpions was hilarious, and then the spiders, omg xD I'm already looking forward to more of the tarantulas, and I really hope Mike has to touch one of them and sees how cool they are., because they're indeed 'adorably cute' :)


Please update soon!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-06-29

Chapter: 4

So, first, I have to address what you said about hoping I enjoy the “journey” to Bennoda. That sounds very much like this story will be a slow burn. And, I must tell you, slow burns-especially Bennoda slow burns-drive me absolutely crazy. Cra-Zy. So, if I end up in a looney bin somewhere, it’s 100% your fault. :p And, yes, I will still enjoy the journey lol


Mike with the door...my poor heart. </3 I so badly wanted to jump into the story and help him, even though he doesn’t necessarily want the help. Plus, the fact that he took into consideration the width of the aisles and whether or not his chair would fit. :( Those are things that most people don’t even give a second thought but, for Mike, they are the kind of things he’s always thinking about/planning for. Again, the realism is definitely there. Even if it is sad.


Gotta say...I don’t care for bugs or creepy crawly things of any sort. In fact, I’m terrified of most of them. So Mike’s reaction to the scorpions is spot on for what my reaction would be. I would be that way for the tarantulas too. I can’t help it. They evoke, like, instant fear. Now, reptiles don’t. I had a pet snake before and love them to pieces. To each their own.


Oh and wanting to touch Chester’s tattoos is definitely NOT weird. I would’ve gladly touched them all ;)


God..the awkward exchanges between Mike and Ches! So cringey! Which I know is what you’re aiming for so...congrats! lol I just want to hug them both but Chester even more because I really feel for him when he says these things that seem insensitive when it’s totally unintentional. *sighs*


I’m curious about Mike’s past relationships and if we’ll get more details about them as the story moves along. I hope so. Jason seems to definitely have some concerns about Mike and his dating choices.


Love Talinda’s appearance. Sam I can do w/o but, as long as she’s portrayed in a negative light, I can roll with it. :p Which probably sounds really mean but it’s the truth. *shrugs*


Anyway, please update soon!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-06-28

Chapter: 3

I’m pretty sure that my favorite paragraph you’ve ever written (shh, don’t look through my reviews to see how many times I’ve told you that) is the second paragraph of this chapter. From breakfast to coffee to tea to juice to “We can sit out on the balcony and drink hot tea, since he doesn’t like coffee and it’s too cold to have juice” the way Mike’s inner ramblings go is so adorably cute and I just want to squeeze him.


SQUEEZE.


And then you gave me Jason. I’m telling you, I’ve turned into a huge Jason Shinoda slut. The way he looked at his reflection in the napkin holder is something I would do. In fact, I used to work in a home goods store, and I would casually stroll through the toaster aisle to check my hair until a hot guy I worked with called me out on it one day. After that I tried to stop being so obvious. Lololololol


Anyway. Jason and Mike. (heh) I freaking ADORE how Jason knew right off that Mike had met someone. Their relationship is cute already. I hope we get to see more of Jason, especially since all he did (as usual, for your characters in early chapters!) is bring more questions than answers. So apparently Mike gets around a bit, huh? I’m really dying to know about that. I’m dying to know everything about Mike’s sex life, actually. I know you’re gonna make me wait, and FINE, I’m used to it by now. Begging gets me nowhere with you.


My heart broke a little when Mike was admitting that the two times he’s seen Chester weren’t dates, but it’s good to know that even though he gets carried away - both good and bad - he is realistic, too. I’m glad Jay convinced him to go to Scales n Tails BUT I died a little more inside when he was struggling to get the door open. He’d done all this research to make sure he could do it, and come off capable and sexy in his backwards ball cap (hottttt) and then the damn door wasn’t automatic. I wanted to cry for him. He spent all that time still debating about going inside and being so stubborn and then the fucking door. Ugh.


Screw the scorpions. Do people actually keep those as pets? Nope. That is a hard no for me. I’ll take a tarantula over a scorpion. My grandparents lived in the deep woods and I remember my grandmother telling a story of how she got up to used the bathroom in the middle of the night and there was a scorpion on the toilet. I was scarred for life. I still turn on the light and check the toilet in the middle of the night.


Chester’s reaction to seeing Mike wasn’t what I expected, and especially when he asked about Brad, I was like - wtf? That whole exchange was awful. Not in how you wrote it, but in how Chester spoke thoughtlessly and Mike took it so personally. Then Sam showed up and I literally said out loud, “gross.” I hate her so much. But “I love dick” was a great line. I snorted, so yay for that. I’m willing to bet Mike walks out of that store with a spider. Not because he wants one, but because Chester is so into them and Mike is so into Chester. That’s my prediction!

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-06-07

Chapter: 3

It's incredible how Mike is so enamored with Chester with just seeing him for a couple of minutes. They didn't even had an actual conversation but yep that spark was definitely there. Its like he is already in love and that is so so sweet and for sure seems to be love at first sight. Even when Mike doesn't acknowledge it.


I love that Chester doesn't seem to mind that Mike is on a wheelchair and that is so amazing. The entire chapter was delicious to read and I hope to know more about Mike's disability soon. I want them to meet again, I want Mike to go to Chester's place or workplace or whatever but I need them to go out together and get to know more about each other please. Update soon!!

From: ninja

Date: 2019-06-06

Chapter: 3

I love this chapter and how Mike makes sure everything is perfect for Chester. The Brad/Mike friendship is super cute and you can see how supportive they are of each other.


And Chester and Mike loving the same author is great :D

I like how Chester was trying to help out at first. And how awkward he felt when Mike said he could do it. You pictured it right. :)


Update soon, I want to know when they are meeting again! :D

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-06-04

Chapter: 3

This chapter was absolutely a joy to read, any thing you write always has that affect on me. I dunno why but this chapter made me feel a little emotional ❤️ So I will try to push through for the simple fact is I want to tell you I loved the shoe conversation between Mike and Chester. I love how you have written both Brad and Rob together, they just seem so good together❤️ And argh spiders, I have a natural fear for them lol.


Great job, thank you for the update ❤️

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-06-02

Chapter: 3

Such a great chapter! As always I was very happy to see a new update :)


I love their trainwreck conversations and thoughts; the way Mike makes those uncomfortable jokes about 'I have 26 pairs of shoes and I can't even walk', and then Chester's reactions and the things he says about it without thinking and then apologizing...it shows this feeling of not knowing how to (re-)act that people have when they talk to someone with a disability. I can't really explain it in english, sorry...what I'm trying to say is that your writing on this topic is great because it shows the awkwardness they're both feeling. Mike tries so hard to be seen as a 'normal' person, and yet the wheelchair is something that can't be ignored.


I really hope Mike visits Chester's workplace, and the tarantula fan inside me hopes that Chester makes Mike take one on his hand xD And yes, I just outed myself as a fan of big, fat, hairy spiders.


Anyway, please update soon!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-06-01

Chapter: 3

I'm with lpfan503 all the way when it comes to my own feelings about this story. Super emotional and I have a hard time pinpointing why. I guess maybe because Mike is so eager and hopeful and I want so badly for things with Chester to work out for him? I don't know. The last chapter didn't make me quite as emotional as the first but this third one sure did.


So many of Mike's thoughts are just...I don't want to say hard to read, but...brutally(and not in a bad way) realistic maybe? Thoughts that I'm sure people with a disability like Mike's think/deal with on a regular basis. Like, Mike wondering where he should be when Chester first sees him and having to take into consideration the "awkward" transition from couch to chair. Or thinking that Chester would probably prefer to be out with someone who could dance or ice skate with him. :( *sighs* I wanted to hug him.


I love that Mike is thinking "our spark" already when it comes to him and Chester ;) And, of course, I wanted them to kiss at the table. I know, I know...it's still very early on but my Bennoda heart wants what it wants and my Bennoda heart isn't always so rational :p AND I wanted Chester to stay behind and just take the train home later.


I smiled when Mike thought he'd like to collect Chester. Me too, Mike. I know the feeling lol


Love, love, love their connection over Poe and the shirt. <333 And the effect it had on Mike. Absolutely wonderful.


My heart ached a little for Chester too when he offered to carry Mike's plate for him and the awkward moment that ensued. Obviously, his offer came from a good place but that kinda thing can so easily come off as...insensitive? I don't know. See what your stories do to me?? :p I can't think of the right words anymore. o_O lol


I love this story!!! Can we get some Bennoda in the next chapter?!? Just a kiss. Or...a couple kisses :p Whatever. Just...Bennoda soon please! Mike would appreciate it too ;)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-06-01

Chapter: 3

I DON'T KNOW WHY THIS STORY MAKES ME SO EMOTIONAL. Gah. I go back and forth the whole time between feeling teary-eyed and smiling like an idiot. You are writing Mike wonderfully. I think it's a combination of him being so vulnerable, but then also being so hopeful. His attitude is really interesting to me. I feel like he's a naturally upbeat sort of person, but he tries to push that down a little due to his circumstances, and how assholey other people can be.


Mike’s self-talk is so interesting. He goes so fast from optimistic and excited to a complete downward spiral of panic. It was crushing my heart thinking that Chester wouldn’t show up, and Mike hadn’t even thought of it yet. Brad’s thoughts were killing me! I don’t want anything to hurt Mike! He’s so stubbornly independent, and I love that about him. Getting everything prepared for Chester to be there, and all of his inside excitement and hope, made it so critical for Chester to actually show up. I’ve never been so glad for him to appear in a story ever.


All of these little things - Mike deciding where to sit, carrying his own food, - all of that is so important right now. I feel like he so fiercely wants to be *seen* for who he is and not been seen in the chair. Even the little things he says, like “we can sit down” shows me that he’s trying so hard to not let it get in the way until he hears himself saying it, so someone does or says something to remind him. But the thing I love, is that even when Mike is in a panic, Chester is so cool about everything. He notices, and just goes on with things like it’s no big deal. Chester seems so sweet in this story. There’s no way his big balls are getting him in too much trouble, lol. I just adore all of their conversation. You did such a great job with that, and their thoughts. It seems exactly like those awkward getting to know you conversations and thoughts that happen when you are so attracted to someone. Ahhh, this just seems so natural and realistic.


HOW MUCH TO I LOVE THAT HE PUT ON A SHIRT THE SAME COLOR AS CHESTER’S SHOES FROM THE FIRST TIME THEY MET?? And that moment at the table with Mike’s hand on Chester’s arm, oh my god! I almost died it was so precious.


Side note, Brad and Rob are cute. Which is a weird thing for me to say. And Chester’s dark purple nails, that’s Lincoln Park After Dark, right? Lol. Also, I see you working Ryan in there, haha. My heart almost stopped, but I know you wouldn’t do that to me. This is Bennoda, you promised. I think. Ahh, i loved the t-shirt thing at the end, and how Mike and Ches are all dark inside. I love this story so much already. It makes me feel all sensitive and emotional and I don’t know why. I just know that I’m in love with all of them. Even this Brad, which is amazing. I can’t wait for Mike to go to the pet store, and whatever small thing that happens that becomes a catastrophe in his head. I’m so rooting for Mike in this story!! <3

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-25

Chapter: 2

I must say I love Rob and Brad I’m your story, they are such cuties. I love the direction you are taking us with this one and really excited to see what you have to unfold ❤️❤️❤️

From: One More Light

Date: 2019-05-23

Chapter: 2

I really like this story and cannot wait to read more :)

From: ninja

Date: 2019-05-21

Chapter: 2

OMG I hope he says yes *insert heart eyes*

I love your stories! :D

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-05-19

Chapter: 2

This chapter was again so good, and I can't wait for Mike's and Chester's next meeting, I hope he agrees to play cards! I don't think Mike's disability will be a problem for Chester, because there was certainly a spark when they first saw each other. I'd like to know more about why Mike has to have the wheelchair, but I guess you'll let us know soon (hopefully).


Brad and Rob are really cute, too :)


I can't wait for the next chapter, seriously, pretty please update soon :)

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-05-17

Chapter: 2

Hey! I've been following this fic since you started it however life again is being a bitch to me and I just don't fond the time to leave any reviews. I want to tell you how much I adore this fic. Is so different to everything you've written before. I never read anything showing Mike with a disability, so it's really interesting.


Im loving Brad and Rob's characters in this. And Mike and Brad friendship. That first little bennoda scene was great too. I cannot wait for them to meet again. And let me tell you girl, the irony on that second chapter it was amazingly written because of that was not love at first sight.. I don't know what it was.. the spark was there since the very first moment.. and Mike cannot deny he is absolutely smitten with this guy.. I'm begging for you to update soon.. and I hope Chester accept to join them for the cards night.. I know that would be a wonderful chapter too.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-05-14

Chapter: 2

I love restless Mike who really wants to know everything about Chester.

I love how he is overcoming his fears of saying that out loud and asking Brad to ask Rob and Ches over.

I love that Brad cares about him and doesn't want him to get hurt and is, therefore, carful when speaking about Chester and meeting up.

I love even more that he still gives it a go and calls Rob.


Summary: I love this story. I love you. You are great. Please, update soon, I'll promise to leave a review with more content the next time! (Just don't have time right now, deadline ahead. Still wanted to tell you that I LOVE THIS CHAPTER)


P.S. I also love Brad and Rob. They are great together. We rarely get to read about them together, so this is really really nice <3

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-05-13

Chapter: 2

So, first, I was dying for this update. Dying!! I'm already in love with this story and looking forward to seeing everything play out. I really don't know where to start so this review may come off as random and all over the place lol


Brad...I'm loving Brad in this which is super refreshing. I adore Brad in RL but I seem to always find myself frustrated with him in fanfics and I actually get sorta frustrated over always being frustrated with Brad. If that makes sense? lol But, so far, I'm not frustrated with him in this. :)


I'm also finding Brad and Rob adorable. <3 Like Mike, I hope things work out for them.


I get Brad's concern over the differences between Chester and Mike but, sometimes, opposites attract and can actually compliment each other really well. Which I'm hoping is the case here. Or Brad read Chester wrong and him and Mike are more evenly matched than he thinks. Either way...as long as I get happy, Chester-loving-Mike-in-spite-of-his-disability Bennoda, I can care less how it happens. :p


I'm really hoping this won't be a slow burn. It might kill me. o_O I neeeeeeed the Bennoda in this! It will do my heart so good when it finally happens. :)


Mike being so eager and excited had me extremely happy for him. I'm hoping we get to see how this card night goes. I'm thinking Chester will be just as excited about seeing Mike again too. ;)


Okay...I think I'm done. So happy about this update and looking forward to the next! :D

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-05-13

Chapter: 2

I’m so emotional for this Mike it’s ridiculous. I just have to say, I hope this is going to go well. That Chester is going to be good to him. I will jump in your story and beat his ass if he hurts Mike at all. The way you describe just the hope in Mike’s eyes made my heart pinch up and my eyes water. All of his sweet rambly Mike thoughts that were so clearly showing that he’s falling hard for Chester after meeting him for three seconds… and then him thinking about romance movies and how it’s stupid that people meet and instantly fall in love… I can’t decide if that’s irony, or setting me up for later when they don’t work out. I don’t know. It better just be irony.


Brad is protective of Mike, and I love that, but I feel like instead of the “let him down easy” approach, Mike would be more receptive to Brad just saying, “hey, I’m not sure Chester is a good match. Maybe you shouldn’t get your hopes up.” I don’t know. I’m just terrified that Mike is going to get hurt and I want to snuggle him and tell him all the good things about himself so he’ll be more confident. For some reason I have a hard time explaining how this story makes me feel. Mike’s thoughts on the couch just made my heart ache for him. This better be a happy story, and when whatever bad thing happens goes ahead and happens, you better have the next chapter already written so I don’t have to wait, because this story might actually hurt me if it doesn’t go well. You’d tell me if Chester was gonna be an ass, right? You better.


As always, you write emotions so well. I could feel Mike’s hope and excitement over all the possibilities Chester represents. I love this so much so far. I also love your other story, and I know we’re working on our stuff, so I need you to quit your job and just write for me. I know I ask all the time, maybe eventually you’ll do it. Sorry my review is not very good, haha.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 1

Let’s just say I jumped in giddy to see that you have a new story for us to read. Off to an amazing start, Brad and Rob are just too cute! Cannot wait for the Bennoda to happen and the ending with Mike talking about finding that spark, excuse me while I melt ❤️

From: ninja

Date: 2019-04-29

Chapter: 1

I really like this story. Brad and Rob are cute together and hopefully Chester will be cute with Mike :')

Mike needs to go out a bit and I guess they'll manage to drag him out.

can't wait for more :)

Reviews 1 to 20 of 25