LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-06-04

Chapter: 27

First of all! Have fun on your break away, i know much need time on vacation is always nice so I hope you’re having fun. Second of all! Thank you for the update! Love love loved that Chester had finally spoken up to his parents’ about his sexuality, that takes a big step and to see them accept him made me almost happy cry! Third of all! ‘Being a family has nothing to do with being related; it has to do with trusting and respecting each other and having a strong bond that nothing can break‘ This. Had. Me. In. Tears, because with certain stuff going on in my life this really hit so close to home that I had to take a moment just to breathe. You written this so beautifully I can’t even describe to you how gorgeous these words had felt to me❤️


Cannot wait for the next update ❤️

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-05-29

Chapter: 26

God here comes the tears, why am I crying so damn much, absolute gem this chapter was.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-05-28

Chapter: 26

Hiiiii, I thought i had left a review earlier but seems I haven't.

This chapter was so emotional. Almost teared up.

Their parents are so patient. And Chester... I wanted to give him a big hug!

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-25

Chapter: 26

I almost teared, actual tears knowing that I’m 5 chapters time this beautiful masterpiece will be completed. I’m highly emotional and running in coffee fumes so my review will not make sense at all so I am apologising in advance.


I love Donna in this, she reminds me of my own mother, and I must say she is one of my favorite characters in this beside Mike and Chester of course. Also Muto I think he needs to lay off Chester changing his appearances because I can agree with Penelope’s review vvv and that they are almost men!


Lovely writing, I really love the drama in this! Cannot wait to see the next part (Im)patiently waiting for the next update❤️

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-24

Chapter: 26

Oh man, that was a lot! But very good. You are awesome at portraying all the teenage trainwreck emotions. Seriously. I love this story so much. I know I've said this before, but I have teenagers, and a lot of this just resonates with me. This past weekend my teenage son got caught drinking. Police were involved...and wouldn't you know this story came to mind in the middle of all of that! So yeah. It gets me right in the heart.


Anyway. The part with Chester telling Muto he wasn't his dad, I didn't see that coming. He's been so connected with his family through this whole thing, it shocked me. And it obviously shocked all your characters as well. I'm very glad he recognized he didn't mean it, and apologized the way he did.


I love Donna in this. She's such a mom and remind me of myself. lol when my kids were little I would call them "pumpkin butts" ....they're 15 and 16 now. I still call them pumpkin butts. And my 16 year old son is always quick to roll his eyes and tell me he's too old for that. Anyway, I love when her and Muto talk and discuss the boys. I love that she knows about Chester and I think she's really going to be a supportive force in that. Although, how will Muto feel when he realizes he's the only one in the house who hasn't known for so long?


I think Chester's right about painting his nails and wearing his hair how he wants. He's old enough to make those choices on his own. While I respect Muto's POV on the rules, he needs to loosen that grip a little. His boys are almost men.


Update soon! I'm very ready for Chester to come out. Oh! And I love the line about Mike saying Chester has mood swings like a girl lol idk why.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-05-02

Chapter: 25

I think I just fell in love with Ches/Dave. The phone call was just so cute. They are still at such an early state but you can tell that they really like each other :) It sucks that they can't see each other and as much as I understood the choice to ground them, as much do I want them to be able to spend the summer together...


Chester singing to calm himself down is also just great. And Mike listening... I know it's not Bennoda, but in a really brotherly sense, my heart still speeded up a bit at this. It's just a nice details that shows how close they are.


As does the scene when Ches is painting his nails. I'm glad that Mike decided to help him and that he supports him. Yes, they fight, they can be mad at each other, but in the end they are brothers that really love each other as such.


Das freaking out about it... I saw that coming :D But there is noting he can do, Ches will do whatever he wants to anyway... I basically just wait for him to sneak out again.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 25

I love that Chester painted his nails, and Mike helped him. lol and Muto needs to get over it. Doesn't he remember the birth of punk rock??? Come on! All the hot guys painted their nails black :D I really love their argument/make up through the wall. I think this is the first story I've ever read with Chester and Mike being brothers, and I have to say, I love it. I love the connection they have. It hits all my Bennoda feels without being romantic Bennoda.


His phone call to Dave was so cute. I think I grinned through the whole thing. And mom so knows. She should at least try and prepare Muto for what's coming. I love how you've portrayed her in this story. Such a mom.


lol and I adore Chester using words like "cute" and "pretty" cracked me up. I'm so glad Mike is supportive of him in every way.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 25

How did I miss the last chapter? What?!! I swear I am just falling behind in everything I’m so sorry haha. Onto the review, I am glad Chester has reached some kind of agreement with his folks, and that his punishment won’t be so bad after all! Also Chester with painted nails, yum, argh haha. And now I am wondering the same for Dave’s dad’s name too lol? Anyway! Thank you for the great chapter, always a joy! Can’t wait to read the puppy play one yyyaaaay ❤️❤️❤️❤️

From: ninja

Date: 2019-04-24

Chapter: 24

grounded for two month?? OOoof but hey, better than prison. They better learn from this.

If they get to call their respective boy and girlfriend maybe time will pass a little faster. Or they could just come visit. who knows xD


anyway, Can't wait for the next chapter :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-20

Chapter: 24

So I left you a review yesterday, and the whole time I was reading the story, I had two things I really wanted to mention. Then I posted my review and realized I failed to mention them both! So here they are....


I really enjoyed the flashback of four year old Mike wetting his pajamas. It just tugged at my heartstrings, and I guess that's just me as a parent....looking at my teenagers and thinking, they used to be so sweet and innocent.


AND I laughed out loud over Chester and the coffee. He's now had alcohol twice, but hasn't managed to have a cup of coffee XD Like, at any point he could go buy a cup of coffee from anywhere or just make some at home when his parents are out lol it just really came off as hilarious to me. Like, he's not done either of those things because he's been told he's too young by his parents, but he will go get drunk. Even now I'm smiling like an idiot. I love it.


Okay, that's all.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-19

Chapter: 24

Those teenagers... Seriously, you picture like half of my high-school class from back then... Just being rebellious and not understanding that there are boundaries you can't cross.


I do understand that they only see this as a little mistake but it wasn't, I need to agree with Muto. They got in conflict with the law and I hope that his little story about the boys ending in jail will help them understand that they have to be more responsible. It's only for their best to learn this now. Yes, being grounded for the summer sucks but screwing up even more badly one day because they didn't get to suffer the consequences would suck even more...


Chester yelling about his panic attack felt relatable. It must have been a horrible feeling to go through it alone and I think it is good that he said it out loud. Not to be pitied by Mike or his parents but to not bottle this feeling up. And Donna reacted in the right way. As did Jason - I love that he is still there for Ches when needed.


Ches and Mime yelling at each other - I was sure this was going to happen. They are both hotheads. I was surprised that Mike didn't spill out that Ches was in that restaurant with a boy... I kind of expected that to happen but I'm glad he didn't. It's Chester's choice when to tell this.


How the other boys are ok. And that Mike and Ches have learned their lesson!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-19

Chapter: 24

Well, that could have been a lot worse! I relate so much because I have two teenagers in my house atm. I think Muto and Donna are doing great. And I agree, it's always a little more disturbing/shocking when it's Mike talking back/cursing. It's like I almost expect it from Chester, so when it's Mike, it's like....wow. Oh crap.


I love how you always say "Jason the dog" lol gotta remember he's not Jason Shinoda in this story.


I had to smile when they were debating how long they could talk on the phone and Mike begged for 8 minutes after Chester's 10. My kids do that. Especially my son...when he wants to stay out later.


I hope the others got home okay...guess we haven't seen that. I don't want any of them to have had some sort of accident.


I love this story! I'm glad you updated it as soon as you did.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-04-15

Chapter: 23

So much suspense!! I hope the talk goes well, they need to learn from their mistakes and so, they'll get grounded I guess but that's what parents are supposed to do.

hehe can't wait for more

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

Those kids.... I remember when you wrote, quite a while ago, that there will be trouble and I was like “nah, how bad can it be” and now I’m like “oh... that bad...”

I don’t necessarily say that drinking alcohol is bad, nor is defending yourself/ your best friend(s). But ending up in jail? That quite a big thing and I’m glad that Muto got them out of there. I don’t want to think about what it would have done for Ches to stay in there longer and probably fight through another panic attack. I was impressed that he calmed himself and I hope he gives Mike his five cents about just passing out when he needed him xD


Seen the fact that my stressed ass wasn’t able to comment on your last chapters, I will also share a few thoughts on Ches/Dave here, because, first of all, I think they are great together. You wrote Dave’s character really nicely and I’m curious to see where this goes. That Ches is talking to his therapist about his fears is such a big thing - remember all the times he refused to say a word or be super stubborn. He grew up so much and he grew as a person that wants to take care of himself. He really came a long way and that he considers letting Dave so close shows a lot that he is in a much better place than he was as a kid and young teenager.

I mean the nightmares must suck and they are a hard reminder of what happened but accepting that he likes guys and thinking about getting more intimate with Dave shows that he is really dealing with things.

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

So glad that Chester could talk himself out of the panic attack, that’s really good to see that his therapy is working out well for him :) and seeing the two boys getting into trouble, let’s gope it’s the last lol 💕

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

Ugh, the poor boys. And yet it's their own damn fault. To be young...you make all the mistakes lol I'm very glad Muto agreed to wait till morning to talk to the boys about what happened. That's really the best approach. Mike wouldn't have been able to have a conversation anyway.


And thank goodness Hahn is a police officer :) I bet Joe gets it worse than everyone because of that though. And yeah, if they would have had priors because of the vandalism, this would have been a lot worse. I get where Muto is coming from. I have a niece who has the habit of getting into trouble and thinking it's no big deal, but stuff adds up and that's going to hit her one of these days *sigh*


Okay, I'm ready for the big talk. Oh! And I was very proud of Chester for remembering all the stuff he's learned in therapy and he was able to talk himself through his panic attack. That's a life skill right there.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-04-03

Chapter: 23

I always jump whenever I see you update this story, despite that I feel fairly sick and blah, I just knew I had to read it! Officer Joe Hahn, I kept giggling seeing him like this I just can’t picture him as a serious police man, but you my friend made it work and it was great! Poor Mike and Chester I hope they will learn from their mistakes, seeing them locked away like that I hope they will learn from their mistakes. I am loving the pace in this story, it’s so raw and so real, wholesome and realistic! Do I need to go on lol?


Can’t wait for the next chapter! Eagerly waiting here ❤️❤️❤️

From: wing69wing

Date: 2019-03-30

Chapter: 22

This is such an amazing story and I love Bennoda friendship, thank you so much for the Update.

From: Rivver

Date: 2019-03-28

Chapter: 22

CH 21)

Ohhh Dave! That is cute. Unusual pairing, true, but I like unusual pairings. So yay!! Though I have to confess I was secretly hoping for the boy to be Brad. Don't mind me! xD And I'm assuming it's ballet what they are doing in that secret place, but you didn't say it, at least in this chapter, so it could be something else o.o

Their first date was so cute. And i'm glad Dave took Chester to that Youth center. Now they have a place where to feel included and fully accepted. I'm gald Chester told Mike about his date, too. Lovely chapter. Now on to ch.22. ;)

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-03-25

Chapter: 22

Loved the first kiss! Was so sweet and huhu I am crying lol. Also sorry for getting mixed up with the bennoda, but excited to see more of Chester and Dave!

Reviews 21 to 40 of 113