LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-11-16

Chapter: 34

What a mess... and with that I don't refer to Brad's parents house. But to the whole situation with Dave's parents.

Wine stains, a shrewd curtain and a broken lamp are really nothing in comparison to Dave's dad. He acted like an absolut homophobic asshole and I get the feeling that he just wanted Chester over to insult him and Dave and tell them how wrong they are. WHAT A BULLSHIT! They are awesome together and the homophobia makes me so angry. I know that religion seems to be the problem but it isn't. It is never an excuse to treat other people like they are bad people when all they do is being in love. Dave's parents are assholes. Everything that went down, at dinner and after, was just wrong. Also, everything that Dave said his parents have tried to make him do; like the "therapy" or dragging him to church more often while also telling the priest to include more homophobic stuff; all of this is just wrong... ARGH!! I'm so angry right now!!


(sorry, as you can tell, I'm really sensitive when it comes to this topic. I love the chapter)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-11-14

Chapter: 34

Ugh, Dave's parents were a nightmare. I kinda figured they would be. So it was all a ploy just to try and convince Chester to go to church so they could "help" him and Dave? So wrong. I mean, I guess in their minds they're doing the right thing, but they really pressed it too far.


It was nice to see Dave stand up for himself/his relationship, it just worries me that eventually it will get too hard, or Dave's parents will send him away.


I'm glad that everyone showed up to help Brad clean his house. It sounded like a disaster and Chester calling his mom to ask about the stain was a nice touch.


I think the end was my favorite part. I love the brotherly love between Mike and Ches in this story. It brings a smile to my face every single time. I have to wonder if Chester has any jealousy of Mike and Anna. Like, how their relationship is so "easy". You know? Anna's parents love Mike, and Mike's parents like Anna. They'll never have the hurdles that Dave and Chester will go through.


I'm glad you decided to post both your updates :) I'll TRY not to be so needy. Can't promise anything though.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-10-18

Chapter: 33

What do you mean December????????


NOOOOOOOOO!!!!


*cries dramatically*


So. Not. Fair.


*sigh*


*hugs*


Sorry for my outburst.


Hope everything is okay :)


But I'll miss this story. It's one of my favorites.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-10-16

Chapter: 33

I got what I asked for; alone-time for my two favourite boys in this story <3 I'm glad it went the way it did and I'm glad that they found a way that made it comfortable for both of them. A bit unusual to loose your virginity in a friend's parent's bed I guess... But maybe actually not, tons of people loose their virginity at parties so it might even be pretty normal but just unusual for me xD


Anyway, on with the rest. I'm so damn proud of Ches that he didn't have a drink! I could tell that he wanted but he stayed strong and that's good! I think it would have destroyed their night, because drunk sex isn't fun and even if he only would have started drinking after, his mum and dad would have given him hell for it and that would have destroyed the night as well.


I mean they still got the talk and it sucks that Friday nights are cancelled but Ches can still be proud of himself. I'm actually a bit mad at Mike, he should have known that getting high isn't a good idea either and that their parents would be pissed. Why risking all the trust they had built up again?? I guess they all say little rebels ;)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-10-15

Chapter: 33

I am SO proud of Chester. I really am! I was expecting him to give in to temptation, but he didn't! Look at him, the ONLY one who followed the rules. Other than the time thing. I'm with Mrs. Shinoda. I have teenagers, and I wait up till their home for the night. Even a few minutes late and I'm texting them lol Mike and Chester would hate me as a mom XD


Anyway. So Chester and Dave finally had real sex. In Brad's parent's room/bed! How crazy is that? They were obviously ready though, so I think it was good. And you did a good job cutting it off the way you did, it came out nice.


I am glad they're all safe, although the house sounds like it's going to be a disaster to clean up. Hopefully Brad will survive this story lol. Oh that moment with spin the bottle had my heart beating. Especially when that girl was like, why? You don't have a girlfriend. It was like...ouch. Man. But I'm glad that Chester and Dave handled that in a mature way and didn't freak out or anything.


Another wonderful chapter :) I always enjoy them all.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-10-13

Chapter: 33

Aaaaw it's cute. I'm glad they did it!


Though, the other's should have been more responsible... Weed, come on xD but teenagers, we all know what they do. Haha


it's sad that they got gorunded, after all, they should have checked the time but then they were having fun so it's understandable. But hopefully they get their friday nights back very soon!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-10-05

Chapter: 32

It still kills me that their parents let Anna and Dave stay over every weekend. That's just beyond my comprehension as a parent. I still say Anna is going to end up pregnant. I'm kinda worried about Chester and Dave and what's going to happen when they finally have sex :( I feel so bad for Chester. His flashbacks are always so rough to read, and then when he was doubting his relationship and actually wondering about Dave forcing him, it was like noooo. He wouldn't do that. Or at least I hope he wouldn't. Gosh, how damaging would that be? Chester would never trust anyone again.


Anyway. I'm glad his therapy is helping him, and I love that Mike cares so much and wants to know what's going on. Even if it came out during a wrestling match, still. It's good. I love how Mike is like his dad and he's a hard teacher lol that part cracked me up.


So this party....here's my predictions. 1. They WILL come home late. and 2. Chester will end up drunk.


Hopefully nothing bad happens because of those things though. And btw, I totally heart Chester with all his math woes. I know the feeling.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-10-02

Chapter: 32

Not a lot of time (as usual) but still want to leave a few thoughts.

A quick list will do ;)


1.) I understand that Mike is mad at Ches. They always shared everything and Mike is the reason why Ches open dup to the psychologist, he helped him through endless rough therapist, he made him become part of the family after all... So the fight was necessary, a great scene and a good way for them to come clean about everything.


2.) Don't get me wrong, I'm happy that Ches trusts other people to talk to them about his problems. Its good that he is honest when he has therapy and he really tries to implement things in his life. And he got so far!


3.) I know you said this is mainly about the family and the dynamics (which I still love) but I need a bit of cute Dave/Chester moments. I love them together and, if I could have a say in this (which I don't because its your story and I love your story the way it is, so it's just me daydreaming and being needy); I would make you write out every single Friday night!


So, curious about this party, I know that Chester really wants to do something risky/stupid but I hope he has also learned from the past! Please boys, don't burn the house down...

From: ninja

Date: 2019-09-20

Chapter: 31

First, sorry for the late review. *hides in a corner*

Second, I loved this chapter.

Chester obviously needs to take school more seriously and I'm glad Dave is so understanding. I'm sure it will take time but he's a good person C can trust, like he can trust his parents and Mike.

It must be hard to trust people you are that close with, especially after the trauma he got but he's well surrounded

Can't wait to read more

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 30

I agree on the mindfulness, I hope Chester will master the art of calming down and getting himself grounded. Good job on his therapist's part for giving him an alternative option to pills.


I've always liked the Shinodas in this story, but damn, they need to lighten up. It was just one test, a test where everyone did badly, a test that was a surprise, and it's only the beginning of the school year, Chester will have plenty of time to make up for it.


On the other hand, my son has the exact same problems when it comes to school. I can't tell you how many conversations we've had with him that went just like the one you wrote...us telling him to take school seriously, and him promising he will, but he doesn't and so on. Having a kid like that, I can totally relate, to the parents and Chester in this story. Not everyone is the same, so even if Mike and Chester have similar amounts of time to study/do homework, that in no way means their grades will be the same.


As for your fake names for the grandparents, I think they're fine :) you're just making them up anyway, so whatever you come up with will work for your story.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-09-01

Chapter: 30

First of all, I like the names you came up with :) When I hear them, they make me think of exactly the kind of people you described. So, go for it!


Reading that Ches is struggling more and more again is heartbreaking. He deserves to be happy and being a teenager and experiencing all those new things should be fun and exciting, not causing him anxiety and nightmares. I don't know why he is so reluctant to take the meds - it might really help him. It doesn't make him less of a good and functioning human being, people don't judge him if this is a step he needs to take to get finally better. Also, do the damn meditation/breathing exercise! In this regard he is a pretty normal stubborn teenager that doesn't like too listen to advise...


And he maybe needs to see that he can't manage everything at once. It's hard to admit to yourself that there are periods in your life where you have to come up with decisions and make priorities. I know this feeling all too well - "other people manage, why don't I get it together?" Bad news, Ches. You just have to take a bit more care of yourself than other people do and you need a bit more time for yourself. I hope he sees that at some point.


What else? I would really like a Mike/Ches moment again. I can see that they are still close but not as close as they used to be. Ches didn't even tell Mike that his anxiety was getting worse, or that he had nightmares again. I mean, it's good that he tells his therapist but so far he shared everything with Mike and he never thought that it would be better not to. So why now? I hope they don't loose the strong connection they always had while getting older and older. It is such a special bond.


I'm sure I missed something I wanted to comment on but right now I don't really remember. Maybe about the school stuff? Not sure. I mean I see why Ches gets frustrated. He is doing stuff for school and never being as good as your brother - that must suck. But he will manage, I'm sure. He has proven himself and his parents that he is smart enough, even though he forgets that sometimes.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-22

Chapter: 30

Awwww, I',m melting here. Mike/Anna and Ches/Dave together are just too cute and the way they enjoy their time together it great, Especially that they feel so safe around each other that they can just be themselves. I know that Mike and Ches are, but it's good to see that Anna and Dave just fit into that constellation. Despite awkward morning.


I can imagine how happy Mike and Ches are that they are not grounded anymore and getting the house to themselves once a week is a pretty nice arrangement. But Donna was right, they have proven to be trusted again.


And then Ches opening up to Dave. I was hoping it would happen because I was afraid that Ches would loose it at some point and if Dave would not know anything about the anxiety and Chester's past, it could have ended badly. Dave could have walked out of it, frightened or hurt because he wouldn't know that it was not about him but about the demons Ches is still fighting. So knowing all of the past happenings, knowing that he struggles with anxiety but also knowing that he is getting help - that was important for Dave to know and he dealt with it in a badass way! Ches, he is a keeper!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-22

Chapter: 30

Oh Mike. Showering with Anna at such a young age. I'm telling you, she's going to end up pregnant. Then Muto will really have a fit, and Mike will have to marry her. I like that Chester felt comfortable enough to tell Dave about therapy and his past/anxiety issues and how that will have an effect on their relationship, especially as they explore more physical things. Props for them for only doing over the clothes stuff despite sleeping in the same bed in only their underwear with no parents around.


I had to laugh at mother Shinoda saying the house was too clean XD that's something only a mother would say. I'm glad the grounding is over and they're letting the boys have more freedom, but that could lead to trouble, too. I don't know. I'm curious to see how it will go. I do love that all four of the can be in the same room, watching movies/making out and it's not a problem. I think that's a testament to how close Mike and Chester are, and the respect they have for each other.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-08-10

Chapter: 29

This chapter was really nice. I'm glad Dave came out, hopefully the parents come around. And the whole dinner and alone time was super cute!


and the date night between the parents OMG I loved it, Donna is so sweet.


I wanna know more about what happened with the boys together with Anna and Dave *smirks*

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-03

Chapter: 29

I really love the shift in the household. Muto has come a long way in the story, and his character growth is encouraging. Having Dave over for dinner is just great of them. And they didn't even badger him too badly. I love Chester telling them to all be normal lol that was hilarious. They're a close family, and it really shows. Mike shows himself to be a good brother, too. Which I love. Even when they fight/argue, there's still so much love between them.


Chester got to make out lol I know he's been waiting for that. And I'm happy Dave came out to his parents, even though it's obviously going to be very rough for him at home for awhile. I hope they'll come around, poor kid.


I think it's great Donna and Muto trust the boys enough to leave them home alone for a night, but as a parent it makes me anxious over the thought of them having their boyfriend/girlfriend spend the night. As a reader, I love it though lol


I adore the idea of Anna and Chester sharing nail polish. It's very cute in my head. Thank you for updating! Sorry my review is late, it's been a busy week. Oh! And Chester asking his mom to cook something that's not Japanese. I think that was a good move.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-31

Chapter: 29

A big shout-out to Muto and Donna for not making this dinner with Dave awkward!! Especially after all the stories about Anna and how Muto struggled with accepting her.

And then, an even bigger shout-out to Dave for coming out. It must have bene hard and the reaction of his parents must have hurt him, even though he expected it. I hope he knows that it is ok t be mad at them and that he never feels like it was ok for them to react the way they did. I know this is more about the Shinoda-family, but I'm curious how he feels after the outing. It was nice of Donna to try to make the situation easier for him.


And then, finally alone. They so deserve this. Hiding sucks and that they get to spend time together is great <3 I'm curious how Chester feels about doing more than making out, I rememberers that he talked to hi therapist about it. Did he actually ever tell Dave that he is seeing someone? Just wondering. There is so much about his past that he probably wants to keep to himself, but being honest is important in a relationship...

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-06

Chapter: 28

Wow, what a great chapter! First of all, let me tell you, the way you picture the Shinoda-family here and all the different reactions; that's just so close to what happened to me in real life. Being met with understanding, with total non-understanding and something in between. It's not a black/white picture and not every "are you sure?/I don't understand" equals a homophobic person, if you know what I mean.


Of course, in an ideal world, it wouldn't be necessary to even talk about it and parents/siblings/friends would just be like "oh yeah, cool, what's this song you are listening to". But hey, that's not where we are right now and yes, it can be a shock for parents. Its hard to deal with when you think they don't understand or even worth, they judge you for being who you are so Chester being sleepless is so understandable. The talk he and Muto have though, is just great. Because, again, it shows the whole range of human emotions, from fears to misunderstanding to love. And I'm so happy they settle on the last thing here.


Donna trying to have "the talk" with Ches was hilarious. The urge of parents to have this talk is immense and I'm wondering if there ever comes a time they will understand that their children might be miles ahead in all of this :D


And then Mike requesting Chester's diary and singing. What a great thing to picture in my head <3 It made me smile and I was so grateful for Mike for just being there. He is the best brother ever, seriously...

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-06-28

Chapter: 28

I love this story so much. You know that already. It's one of my favorites. I felt like Chester overreacted to Muto's reaction, so I was really, really relieved to see them talk it out. That entire last section with them in the morning was really well done. I read the whole thing on the edge of my seat. And now Dave is coming to dinner! I hope. Guess Chester still has to ask, but still. I'm excited! And what a great way to show Chester - not just tell him - that they're okay with how he's feeling/things are.


Mike coming in and sitting with Chester and then playing around with the song was great. I love their brotherly relationship in this story. I've never read anything like it before.


I'm so excited for Dave to come over! Like, you have no idea. And I'm glad they're not rushing into sex. It's good they're taking their time. There's no need to hurry.


Update soon!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-06-18

Chapter: 27

I'm glad Chester managed to come out to his parents. It's such a hard thing to do, even when you know how they react. I can totally see why it took him that long and even though Muto's reaction was far from perfect, it's going to be ok.


Mike and Donna have his back and that's going to help Ches in feeling confident enough to be out and proud and it will help Muto to see that nothing changed and that Ches is still his son!

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-06-07

Chapter: 27

I’m crying happy tears. Love Chester’s Coming out 💕💕

Reviews 1 to 20 of 115