LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-12

Chapter: 14

Ch 12)


I'm so glad Chester's started really talking to the therapyst. Even if he's still so angry (and really needs to work on the cursing, at least when talking to grown ups), at least he's not bottling it all up anymore. Love his and Mike's bond. Their love for one another is so strong and unconditional. And oh no. He got sick. :( But at least he has a loving, caring mom to take care of him now. And dad and brother too, of course.


CH 13)

Lol at the healthy diets. xD And poor Chaz being picked on. :( But yaaaay, field trip with the class. How fun! :D I do hope they manage to stay out of trouble, or at least that no one catches them if they do get into some. o.o


Lovely chapters!! Thank you for sharing! :)


Now on to ch.14.

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-12-11

Chapter: 12

The healthy diet line made me laugh. I can imagine it was just like that, at least for Mike when he was a kid. And also that line about a pretty girl thinking they would be babies if they would walk by, awwww. Yeah, what can go wrong.... Pft... O.O xDDD Thank you!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-12-09

Chapter: 12

A field trip! Haha I had to laugh at Mike saying they never want to get in trouble, the trouble just finds them lol I adore their brotherly bond, and I'm curious now who these girls are they like. But girls could bring trouble. And Chester, struggling being so small and picked on. I'm glad that he has Mike and that Mike cares enough to stand up for him.


I get the feeling that a lot of trouble is coming in the next chapter, can't wait!

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-08

Chapter: 12

Ch 11)

I'm so glad Mike was there for the therapy session, even though it pissed Chester off that Mike spoke so openly with the "enemy," still, at least he's angry and showing it, which means he's dropping some of his protective walls around her, and I'm sure she was able to get some insight thorugh Chester's behavior. I'm so glad she talked to Donna about the punishments. And that Donna was able to crack through Mutto's thick skull. And even got him to apologize to Chester. I'm so glad he did. Poor thing was feeling so bad about not having met up with his expectations. Mutto, what the hell. Math is hard for some people! But anyway, he apologized and hopefully, he'll come up with a better way to motivate the kids to try harder. Lovely chapter again! :D Two down, only two more to go. x)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-08

Chapter: 12

Ch 10) I feel so bad for Chester's emotional torment. He's so angry and I totally get his reluctance to talk to the therapist, and how worried he is about what she'll say about him, but he does need to do it so I think it's a great idea having Mike coming along. Awww Ches cooking with his mom. Cute! And their sign language too! Thanks for the lovely chapter. I'll come back later with the review for ch.11 :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-12-07

Chapter: 12

That last sentence... I don't know how often I've said it to myself and then everything went downhill :D And the two of them mean trouble, they have proven that in the past. Hope they will return safe from the trip, but I guess we will see that in the course of the next chapter!

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-11-29

Chapter: 12

Three chapters! Holy duck.


Chapter 10- Ches don't be a stubborn ass. You have to talk with her. Mmm, zucchini, I love zucchini (totally OT). Love their sign language <3 Agree with Mike, and I like that he is trying to get Ches to talk and I love the idea that he would go with him.


Chapter 11- Poor poor Ches :(( Ugh I love Chester's attitude with the therapist. That's exactly how I would imagine a kid feel like when they would have to talk with an adult about their problems like that (well, as I did too.) And I also like that you pointed out the spanking and that the therapist would like to talk with Muto.


Chapter 12- Rob as the voice of reason, yessssss xD And Joe being the weird one, obviously <3 Love how you picture the therapist. The time skip- I think it's perfect there. Awww, poor Ches sick. But I like how it shows their relationship and how she cares.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-28

Chapter: 12

“You can’t even touch your own shoulders, Michael. So stop making such a fuss and hold still.”



:D :D :D :D


I nearly lost it there! So glad that you included this, it really made me laugh! It came so unexpected, that made it even better!


Despite that really good laugh; I'm glad that Chester learned to open up. He will probably carry all this shit around for the rest of his life but it's easier when he is sharing it than keeping it to himself.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-11-27

Chapter: 12

I'm very happy that Chester is being so open with the therapist. And good for him for keeping a diary..which is not girly at all. I hope he'll eventually see that. I love the brotherly bond you've created between him and Mike, so caring and yet still boys picking on each other. It warms my heart. And I love Mike's mom. She's loving and patient and all the good things mothers should be.


The bit about Mike (and his dad) not being able to touch his shoulders made me LOL. Poor Mike. And it's such a good thing for Chester to be proud of himself over things. That's a huge sign that his self-esteem and self-worth is on the rise from where it was barely existent before. It's a good path, and I hope he stays on it.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-18

Chapter: 11

So glad that Mike's plan worked! Ches can't just bottle things up. I think it was even good that he got mad at Mike because being mad is at least an emotion that he showed and now the therapist can work with it better.

And the bound between the two boys is just incredible. Everyone should have something like that in their lives <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-11-18

Chapter: 11

I'm not against spanking, but in this story, Mike and Chester are too old for that. As a parent, I'm all for structure and discipline, it's important. And kids need those things. It was nice to see the talk between the parents. How you raise your kids and going over what is or isn't working can be tough, especially when you and your partner don't agree about it.


I'm so happy that Chester finally opened up a little to the therapist and had his little breakthrough with Mike. That was so sweet. I just hope he'll talk more next time. It's amazing how openly talking/sharing things with someone else can relieve stress and anxiety and suddenly you're not dealing with those things on your own.


Every time you mention "Jason the dog" it cracks me up XD


And back to the parenting, washing someone's mouth out with soap, gross. I've never done that, and I've never had it done to me, but it just sounds awful. And I'm all with Chester on the math. I hate math. Math sucks. You can't talk your way out of a math problem. I think that's what I don't like about them. So I totally sympathize there, and hopefully Muto will remember that not everyone is great at Math next time.


Thank you for updating, I'm excited for the next chapter :D

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-11-11

Chapter: 10

I really felt for Chester in the first part of this chapter. He seems so angry and really unable to deal with that anger. I like the idea of Mike going to therapy with him. I hope that will make a difference and Chester can start learning some truths/comping methods. Mike cares about him so much and it shows in the way he acted all day at school. They have such a special bond. And I adore their sign language :) I think that's a great touch to this story. I'm the Shinodas are patient and kind people and I think they've really influenced Mike and even Chester at this point.


I always enjoy reading these chapters! Even when there are hard bits, I still like it. And it's a change of pace from most stories on here since it deals with them at such a tender age. I'd love to see more of the other guys too, and what they're like.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-11

Chapter: 10

They really stick together, that's so lovely and incredible to read. But Ches shouldn't be lying when Mike is messing up. I't cute but unnecessary, Mike would never let him be punished for something he hasn't been doing anyway. He cares way too much, a thing that is like a red line in this chapter. It wouldn't leave his mind how to help his brother and maybe he actually found the solution. I'm sure that it would be better if Ches would start talking but if he sees that the therapist is not judging him at all when she gets to knows things through Mike, than he might consider talking as well.


Just a side notice to the punishment. I know that some parents are really strict but I really think that there is no reason to ever spank your child. And Muto shouldn't. Not only because of Chesters past but in general...

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-11-05

Chapter: 9

8-9) Awww I just love how close Ches and Mike have become and how incredibly wonderful have Mutto and Donna been treating Chester, like one of their own. They're so understanding in their treatment, worrying about making Chester feel included and supported but still giving him his space when needed.

Jason the dog! xD Love that.

O.o So Steven was killed. Good thing. He deserved it. I totally understand Chester's conflicted emotions and reaction. Steven did devserve worse than dead, but at least he can start to fully move forward. Glad they're taking him to a phsychiatrist. Hope he continues to get better, though with such supportive family, I'm sure he will. Lovely chapters! Thanks for sharing them :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-26

Chapter: 9

Oh boy, what a chapter! Chester being so torn up about Steven, I can understand. I'm glad the Shinodas are so patient and loving toward him, it's what he needs most. I'm glad he's going to therapy, though this "plan" he mentioned is scary. What plan? Is he not going to tell the therapist the truth? Gosh, that won't help at all. I hope he learns to open up.


I really love the brotherly bond/friendship you've created between him and Mike. It's perfect. It might not be the traditional "bennoda" I'm used to reading, but I'm really enjoying it. And the dog being named Jason is hilarious. Like every sentence with Jason in it is funny XD

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-23

Chapter: 9

Chapter 8- Gosh! I love how you describe how close they are. Such a tight bond <3 I knew it dammit! XDD I knew they named the dog Jason but it still made me crack me up. And yes, he is cute xD Whoa. He was killed?! That was a surprise. Won't say that I don't like it but sure I would have wanted to see what his sentence would have been.


Chapter 9- Poor Ches :( Muto is just a wonderful dad! I love how he explained the situation to Mike. Ah yes, I agree, the psychiatrist would be a good call, let's see how it goes... Yay, Joe! Woop woop! And oh Ches again :( Yeah I agree with him. The death was easy.


Thank you again for a wonderful chapter(s)!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-22

Chapter: 9

Dogs can be so healing (I'm more of a cat person but have seen other people dealign way better with things as soon as their dogs showed up ;)), glad that their parents allowed them to keep him. He really seems to calm Ches down.

I was actually quite impressed how he took the news. Beating the crap put of a tree isn't ideal, but he could have ran away or do something worse than "only" hurting his hand - so seen the circumstances there is some progress. And I really think that a psychologist can help - even though he seems to have a plan to get out of there asap? Curious what Mike thinks about it? Because he seems so supportive of Chester and wants to protect him.

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-17

Chapter: 8

ooooohhhh.... Steven is dead, didn't see that one coming and not sure whether it's a good thing or not. On the bright side, he's gone for good, but he hasn't received the punishment he deserves in my opinion. Guys like him need to suffer more than death. mwahahahahhhh!!


ehm, sorry for the exaggerated reaction, just... overwhelming and wondering what Chester's reaction to that.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-17

Chapter: 8

I'm happy when Chester is happy - and right now he seems to be doing ok! Nightmares can be terrifying and horrible, but at least he isn't living in a nightmare anymore. Still, I agree that he probably should see someone, especially now, with the news on his dad. This news can really screw him up I guess, when the mind is struggling between relief, revenge, grief... This can be hard to handle, especially for children. I hope that Donna, Muto and Mike can be there for him and guide him - but thats maybe not enough.


But - before looking even more forward - a few words to the chapter ;) It is heartwarming to see that Donna and Muto have accepted Ches as their son and Mike has absolutely no issues with jealousy. That's what every child deserves, a safe and stable home where they are loved and taken care of. It's the small thing; like introducing him to the rest of the family, letting the light on because he needs it, reinsure him that he is allowed to show emotions, teach him how to handle them. And Mike and Ches learning sign language is just hilarious! What a smart idea! :D

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-16

Chapter: 8

I wasn't expecting that ending. Wow. I'm curious how Chester will react to that. But the rest of the chapter was cute. I can imagine Mike and Chester getting in trouble for talking too much and trying to learn sign language together. And the dog! I'm really happy the Shinodas let them keep it. I'm glad that for the most part Chester has settled in and is doing well. He's so far from where he started, even though he still has a long way to go.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 36