LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 7

Sigh. I need more time to read. But here we are, so..


Chapter 6- first of all, thank you for the warning. We spoke about the story so I knew what was coming but anyway. Gosh. The Shinodas <3 But the ending o.o Didn’t see that coming. Which means…


Chapter 7- “Just imagine a teenage Chester” xDD Yeah, well, that’s easy!


Oh no poor Ches scared :(( Ugh, glad that the asshole had pictures so they can use them against him! Muto calling Mike Ches’ brother! Awwww! That’s so adorable! And then the talk about using titles dad and mom.. Squee! Me happy!


So, he has still a lot to deal with but at least he has now a caring family and a friend, a brother, there with him. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-10

Chapter: 7

ohh... i've finally finished the whole chapters and i must say it's a really good story. i like your writing style where... i don't know the right words, but you're being direct to point out things but do not spoil anything too directly. oh, i can't put it into English. but the point is, i like your style.


and as for the story, the starting chapters were hard to read for my heart. poor little Chester. no child deserve to be treated that way :(


but then he met Mike and his family and how he finally felt like having a real family who cared and loved him, it's so sweet~


when Chester told Mike's parent about Steven and everything he did to him, i thought 'finally! this boy will finally get out of that hellhole!'.


when Chester told about that photos Steven took, i can't help the growing disgust for that jerk


my favorite part so far is when Muto said 'Chester stop teasing your brother' and Chester called him dad! they were finally a family! it was the sweetest thing ever!


cannot wait for the update :)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

So...I finally caught up with this story and I gotta say Awwwww. Love it. This is so great! Love how it fluctuates from cute to angsty from chapter to chapter. Poor, poor Chester. I'm so glad Mike found him and decided to befriend him. And...can't we have Steven beat up and tortured, please? xD Mr and Mrs Shinoda are so great and understanding. And Muto putting his own safety at risk to save Chester from that monster was so heroic. Now Chester trully has a family to care for him. Love it. Can't wait for more.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

Such a sad yet happy chapter! I'm relieved that Chester is okay, and he's settling in with the Shinodas. I really hope Steven is gone for good. Chester is such a smart boy to call 911. I'm worried for him in the future though, I fear he'll act out or really go into depression as he starts therapy. Update again soon, I'm excited to see what happens. I love his relationship with Mike and Mr. Shinoda is just awesome.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

That was just so heartbreaking... Reading how scared Chester was. Not only because of Steve and the fight but also to actually go to the hospital. I guess he knows that they will only help him but his brain is so messed up that he fear is outweighing that. But I'm glad that he finds reinsurance in Muto. He is such a great human being, as well as Donna. Hope that they will help Chester through this. And Mike as well. They will be great as brothers. Troublemakers I guess, but still great together!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-24

Chapter: 6

I love this story so much. I think it's because I'm a parent, so it hits in different places. I'm so happy that the Shinodas are going to help, and not just someday, but right now. They're taking action immediately. I feel so bad for Chester, and how hard it was for him to show them his bruises and tell what's really happening at home. He's a brave kid. I adore the sentence about how he and Mike have already redone the spare room in their imaginations. And now the police NEED to come! Arrest that bastard and let Chester have the rest of his life in peace.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-23

Chapter: 6

Wow... so much happened, I don’t even know where to start. It is so good to know that Chester found friends and despite all the shit at home he finds so much reinsurance in them. Especially in Mike obviously. But also in his parents. So much that it took him way to long to tell about the situation at home. I’m so glad that he managed to tell Donna and Muto - I really could not continue like this.

But now this cliffhanger!!! How dare you?! This is killing me! I hope you have the next update planned already ;)

Still love you and your story of course <3

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-09-19

Chapter: 5

Yay, finally time to read!


Chapter 4- "A thing called Walkman" made me laugh xD And then Chester talking about Brad and his hair was absolutely awww! Oh my god.... I hate Steven, but Chester with the Walkman. Mike is so nice to him <3 Gosh my heart is melting. And then Ches all worried about meeting the parents. Love that! And Shinodas are so nice too, aaaawwww.


Chapter 5- Oh no. That could have ended badly o.o And yes, I hope Chester tells them. Like, really. Honestly. They could help <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-15

Chapter: 5

Oh gosh, Chester's finally going to tell them. I think it's good he's being open with Mike about how things are at home. That's a good start. I love their friendship. Even though Mike isn't coming from a bad home and has a very loving family and even had friends, it's clear there was something missing in his life, and Chester has filled that place for him. I'm rather curious to see what will happen when he tells them. Will he go to live with them? Then he and Mike really would be like brothers.


Bummer this won't end up as a romance, but that's okay. I think there's something to be said for strong friendships too. Can't wait to see Dave and Joe show up. I hope they're good guys.


Oh, and I really like the little bit about the prayers before dinner.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 4

Nice story so far. I don't have that much time to review (need to catch up with a bunch of stories) but still wanted to let you know that you started off really well. Your writing gets better from chapter to chapter ;) Not that it was bad but it gets more into a flow!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-05

Chapter: 4

Little Bennoda love! Sort of. Almost. I feeeeel it happening. I'm glad that Mike remembered Chester and went over to talk to him. They're so cute, even as fifth grade friends. And I'm happy that Brad and Rob are still around too. Can't wait to see Joe and Dave.


Poor Chester though, he's still getting it from Steven, who is such an ass. I hope Chester tells the Shinodas and they can help him. I love the ending with Mrs. Shinoda telling him that living in the trailer park is nothing to be ashamed of.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 3

I usually don't read school or kids stories but this one is so far so good... Awww this is so cute and at the same time super sad.. I hate Steven so much.. I love the moment when little Mike saw little Chester, they were wearing the same tshirt and also liked the same cap.. this screams little bennoda, what's more cute than that? And Chester singing to himself, and thinking no one ever smiles at him, just so sad.. I love the rich boy/ poor boy thing, is very interesting

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 3

Chapter 3: and now little Bennoda is happening :D I'm excited. I love that they're both excited about wearing the same shirt lol boys. And they both liked the alien cap, too. I love how you ended this with both of them thinking about the other.


It was sad to read Chester's thoughts about no one ever smiling at him. That's so, so sad. Like, totally pulled on my heart. I want to hug him.


I hope the meeting goes well with the teacher and it doesn't end up being awful afterwards like Chester is thinking. *sigh*

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 3

So this is for chapter 2:


I'm shocked little Mike stole the car! And little Brad too! haha crazy kids. I loved their argument over it, who would keep it and such. Seems like a very natural discussion for them to have. And even though getting punished sucks, I think Mike's parents were very fair about it. It was good to return the car.


Ugh, feel so bad for little Chester. He just gets it from every angle in this story. I hate the thought of him being abused, and left alone in his room with just his teddy bear.

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 3

So! I really like this story. Even though the parts are sad and painful, I like the approach. Gosh they are so young <3 Poor Ches :(( And him sitting in a tree and singing! I can totally see that happening.



And what goes to your writing- don't see anything wrong with it. Sure I am non-native too, but the text flows nicely and I didn't see any grammar issues.


Thank you for the nice story! Can't wait for next update.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 1

Oh my gosh, they're so young in this! I like how you're showing their contrasting lives. My heart goes out to Chester. I hate the thought of him being hurt like that as such a tender age. I'm interested to see where this goes..to see little Mike meet little Chester. Or do they already know each other? And little Brad, too. I hope he has a little fro :) But seriously, the step dad sounds awful. Now I'm going to worry. And it's so opposite of Mike's life. Which I'm sure is part of the point.


And welcome to LPF as a writer :) I hope you'll enjoy it!

Reviews 1 to 16 of 16