LPfiction

Reviews

Road Untraveled by Cissoye

Add review

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-03-15

Chapter: 19

I know I've been slack about reviewing, but this chapter got to me. I'm so glad Mike finally talked to Chester, and Chester's advice is so good. I knew Mike would deal with a lot of shame and guilt over what happened, and Chester has the experience in that realm that Mike really needs to listen to. It just broke my heart when Chester wiped Mike's tears away. Ugh. He was so gentle with him, and my Bennoda heart loved that so much. This was a good chapter.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-03-14

Chapter: 19

Finally I manage to leave a few words! But I know that you know how crazy our last weeks have been, so yeah.... Sorry for the delay anyway.


Ok, let's focus on the story. I simply love Dave in this. He is doing the right things and by talking to everyone, he is really holding the group together. I donate say that I don't understand why they are struggling or feeling overwhelmed - but they really have to shove that ti the back of their heads and focus on Mike and his wellbeing. They need to make sure to stick together. And without Dave, that would have gone incredible wrong.So I'm so grateful for him being such a great dude and friend.


And I also want to say that I'm not that mad at the others anymore. Because they are getting their shit together and they are back in the room with Mike. Time will show how it goes from here, but this was a step in the right direction!


Can't wait to see where this is heading. Still a few things to solve and to talk about!


P.S. It was great meeting you!! <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-02-26

Chapter: 18

Ugh, Chester. Dave is so right. It's NOT Chester's fault, and what if he had been there? Those mean bad guys would have hurt them both! And then where would they be?? I understand the guilt Chester's trying to get across though...it's so easy to think that way in hindsight. I'm glad that Dave was there and knew how to talk to him. How to talk to all of them.


Mike was so distraught at the end of the last chapter, it's a huge sigh of relief to see him feeling better and more confident in this one. Of course they still love him, and he's still Mike no matter what.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-02-26

Chapter: 18

I'm so glad you updated!


I really liked this chapter (well of course I did, I like all the chapters), and it was good to see some hope at the end. Mike needs all of them now to cope with what happened to him.


I can understand Chester's point of view, that he blames himself for running away, but he needs to see that it's over now and that he can help Mike by being there for him.


Please update soon!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-02-08

Chapter: 18

I did mean what I said about Mike needing a support group. If he's emotionally scarred and can't eat sandwiches anymore (and I wouldn't blame him) then a support group where he can be around other people with sandwich issues, could be good :)


And I started reading this story because I randomly clicked on your reviews, and something one of the reviewers said made me curious, so I went and looked and here I am.


So this chapter. I love the opening with him coloring with Otis. And it got even cuter after (and you know what I'm going to say here) Chester got there to help :) I'm very proud of Mike for telling the guys. He really needed to. And I agree with Dave. They all need a little time to come to terms and such. I hope Mike will pull himself out of these horrible thoughts he keeps having. He needs to have more faith in his friends.


And the cameras need to go away so Otis can have his BBQ party. Dammit.


Okay, ready for more :D

From: ninja

Date: 2019-02-05

Chapter: 18

gosh, I'm so proud of Mike, I hope he'll be okay and the guy will come back to comfort him. Dave is such a good friend. Damn you write so well, can't wait to read more.

I hope those bastard will get the sentence they deserve

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-02-04

Chapter: 18

I'm glad you won't abandon this story, because it seriously is one of my favorites here, and I always get so excited when you update!


The scene where Mike (and later Chester) is drawing and coloring animals with Otis is SO ADORABLE! I like that you included a few family scenes, and also that Otis asked about the 'camera people' outside, it shows that he understands that something is wrong.


It was good that Mike finally told the guys about what happened...and what did they do? They practically ran away. They need to have a group conversation about this, even though it will be awkward. I can't wait for Chester's real reaction to this, when he comes back from smoking. It was interesting to see him so quiet during Mike's confession.


Also, I LOVE Dave in this, he's such a good friend.


Please update soon, I can't wait :)

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-02-04

Chapter: 18

I will start with something easy: Otis is just adorable and the whole drawing scene, especially with Chester, was really great! I don’t think it would be necessary to have many more family scenes. Now it fits really well but as Mike figures himself: there was not a lot of family time after he cake back home.


And now I try not to think about our chat and why which choices are good or not so good for the plot and the character and just let me emotions out. Sorry already, I know that there are explanations but I need to get rid of this:


No! What are they doing?! Guys!!! Get yourself a back in that room, immediately! It’s not cool to just leave. I know they have said it’s ok and they will support him but still - Mike need them right now and argh!!! I see Dave’s point and I agree that he had time to process it by now and yes it can be difficult to figure out what to du and what not but for fuck sake, Mike is your friend!! You can’t to a lot of things wrong when you just stay in the same room with him...


I’m so grateful that Dave is there. Maybe he should have a word with the others. Especially Chester. Or Anna. Maybe she would be the right person to talk to Chester? Because him not saying a single word is freaking me out. I really could feel how anxious Mike was when he thought about Chester’s reaction and I was hoping for something different. I try to figure out what is going on in his head. Guilt for “leaving” Mike in that situation? Guilt that it could have been him? I see that his brain might have thoughts on that direction. But shouldn’t he focus on the fact that he knows how Mike feels? Doesn’t he know that Mike needs them now, exactly because he has been in the same situation? He probably was also afraid that people would leave him if they would know. I try to not judge here, but as you see, that doesn’t work.


So, I need them to get back into the studio and have a group hug! And while I write this I realize that a group hug is probably not what Mike wants or can stand. So I change my mind and go with: I need a group hug!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-02-04

Chapter: 18

I will start with something easy: Otis is just adorable and the whole drawing scene, especially with Chester, was really great! I don’t think it would be necessary to have many more family scenes. Now it fits really well but as Mike figures himself: there was not a lot of family time after he cake back home.


And now I try not to think about our chat and why which choices are good or not so good for the plot and the character and just let me emotions out. Sorry already, I know that there are explanations but I need to get rid of this:


No! What are they doing?! Guys!!! Get yourself a back in that room, immediately! It’s not cool to just leave. I know they have said it’s ok and they will support him but still - Mike need them right now and argh!!! I see Dave’s point and I agree that he had time to process it by now and yes it can be difficult to figure out what to du and what not but for fuck sake, Mike is your friend!! You can’t to a lot of things wrong when you just stay in the same room with him...


I’m so grateful that Dave is there. Maybe he should have a word with the others. Especially Chester. Or Anna. Maybe she would be the right person to talk to Chester? Because him not saying a single word is freaking me out. I really could feel how anxious Mike was when he thought about Chester’s reaction and I was hoping for something different. I try to figure out what is going on in his head. Guilt for “leaving” Mike in that situation? Guilt that it could have been him? I see that his brain might have thoughts on that direction. But shouldn’t he focus on the fact that he knows how Mike feels? Doesn’t he know that Mike needs them now, exactly because he has been in the same situation? He probably was also afraid that people would leave him if they would know. I try to not judge here, but as you see, that doesn’t work.


So, I need them to get back into the studio and have a group hug! And while I write this I realize that a group hug is probably not what Mike wants or can stand. So I change my mind and go with: I need a group hug!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 22 - Look at me! I'm all caught up :) And ugh. I'm glad Mike is finally talking to Anna a little. That whole bit about the kids and Mike being there but not being there just aches my heart. Distant parents are harder than missing parents sometimes. And spouses, too. I'm hoping him telling Chester will go okay....he's so worried about it. Maybe once that's done, he can take another step forward through this. And don't doubt the story, I've read it front to back over the last two days, and I've enjoyed it :D

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 21 - Poor Brad! I can feel him though. He's been handling so much through all of this. He's like the unspoken victim here...the one handling the calls and the management and feeling responsible. That whole bit about what they were all doing while the attack was happening, and how they had no idea their world was changing - very well-written. I think we've all been there. But how can you know? You can't. And Brad shouldn't beat himself up over it. Even though I get why he is. I'm glad Rob came to check on him and yeah, getting drunk isn't going to help, but I get why you would, too. It's a moment to get lost and forget and focus on something else. To go numb, even for just a little bit. Mike seems to be drinking a lot here too, and Chester would have in that one chapter. I'm glad he didn't. They all need some group counseling. I'm just so glad they're sticking together and not turning on each other.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 20 - I'm so glad Dave stayed with him! And even more relieved that Mike opened up a little. Now at least someone knows that it was REALLY bad. Not how bad, but seriously messed up bad. And it's good. I really do hope Mike will go to a therapist, and I was thinking the same thing as Dave, he needs to talk to a woman if he's really concerned about it could be one of them. Or maybe an older male therapist? Someone he knows couldn't have been part of the bad guy crew.


Or the cops could just catch them! And send them to jail for the rest of their lives. That's my vote.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 19 - Damn the journalists. That's all I can say. Accusing that way and even trying to say they're covering something up, which, okay. They are covering something up. A lot up. They obviously need to be in better communication with Cale's family :( that was just sad. And Mike had/has injuries! They should have said that, maybe it would have been enough to pacify that guy.


Now the truth is going to come out and oh boy. What a mess! Poor Mike...totally zoned out like he's not even there. It's just sad. Makes my heart hurt for him so much. Glad to see Chester hasn't lost his fire though and is even helping take center stage for questions.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 18 - This: Don’t do that to yourself, Mike’s eyes said. Don’t do this to us. You’ve went so far, don’t let them get to you. Think of your family, of yourself. You deserve better than what you want to do to yourself. You’re strong.



Chester reinterpreted as, Don’t disappoint me. Don’t hurt me. You can’t do this to us anymore. You’ve fucked up enough. Do you really want to make it worse ? Just put the bottle down.


That was just so spot on. I love it. And I feel for Mike. I actually thought he'd have a stronger reaction to the pictures/idea of someone following them, but I'm glad he didn't. Maybe because so much "blame" was on Chester and not him? I don't know. But I'm super happy to see them all facing this together, as a band and as friends. I assume the car crash scenario included the deaths of Jim and Cale as part of the accident?


I'm worried for this meeting coming up. I hope it's handled with kid gloves, for both Mike and Chester's sake.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 17 - Okay. It's not quite as bad as I thought. At least not yet. Damn them if they dig up what happened and start harassing Mike and Ches about it. I hate the idea of Mike being so unstable that Brad is even worried. And poor Brad here too. He's really handling the lion's share of all things LP at the moment. Dealing with management and keeping everyone on the same page. That's a lot. He's going to up with more than 67 contacts in his phone by the end of this.


And Chester. It doesn't sound like he's handling it as well as I thought he did. We have such a gap of time missing from him...he was never with the kidnappers, right? And yet they claimed they "gave him back" so...idk.


And Brad's fears over Anna crumbling from all of this. Makes my heart hurt. And what will Mike think? Someone(s) has been stalking him without his knowledge, which means the bad guys could be too. That would be my first thought/fear. Oh lordy.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 16 - Oh boy. So the news got out, I have to guess. For the paparazzi to show up, they must know what happened. But the big question is, who told? Or did something happen with the bad guys?? Ugh. I don't ever want to see the bad guys again, and I'm sure Mike doesn't either. It would crush all the progress he's made :( I am glad Brad was able to go to lunch with him though and they had some lighthearted moments/conversation. That's so good for Mike. And I adore them stealing food off each others plates. Made me smile.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-21

Chapter: 17

Chapter 15 - Poor Mike. I like seeing him get back to normal activities and having the guys around, but he's still tormented. Maybe he will be forever. I had to laugh at the mental of image of Chester's wheelchair bound vampire lol he would so do something like that. And Mike as a pirate would be cute. And I agree with Joe, he should give yoga a try. And the awkwardness, yeah..maybe they should really just talk about it and get it out in the open. I hate seeing Mike stuck with these flashbacks, even to the point of not remembering things like leaving the shower on. I'm glad Anna is there and being so supportive/understanding.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-20

Chapter: 17

Chapter 14 - I'm glad their meeting went well! I was worried their for a few minutes. I'm so happy that Chester being there was a help...for them both. And I hope Mike will open up to him and talk about what happened. Chester could probably relate, to some of it. And even if he doesn't talk to Ches, he needs to talk to someone, when he's ready. It's good to see them both working on music. It's good for their souls and getting back to "normal". But damn the label for being so pesty...give the boys some time!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-20

Chapter: 17

Chapter 13 - I knew he'd have a hard time after he was home. The nightmares and paranoia and he's shell shocked. Plain and simple. It's going to take time. I'm not sure why he's so anxious/worried about seeing Chester. Now I can only hope their reunion is sweet and not all weird and scary. I want Mike to be okay, but that's going to take time. And who knows, maybe he'll never be "okay" again. Not like before. He's probably always going to have stuff lurking in the back of his mind about what happened and fear that it could happen again. And that's a terrible way to live...living in fear like that.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-20

Chapter: 17

Chapter 12 - oh thank goodness! I swear I thought it was all a dream and I was going to be so pissed/disappointed! I actually scrolled through to the end, just to make sure! hahaha but he's home. And of course he's unsettled and disoriented. How could he not be? And Chester's okay....I'm excited for them to see each other. And poor Mike, having all these there-but-not-there memories. I think that would be so horrible. To not know exactly what happened, and especially in this case. If he goes through therapy, maybe he could bring them up from underneath the surface because maybe he's repressing them. I would be :( He needs rape counseling. Man. He needs all the hugs!

Reviews 21 to 40 of 112