LPfiction

Reviews

Road Untraveled by Cissoye

Add review

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-12-11

Chapter: 20

Nuh, not failing. PTSD here and it fits. Sure it's different for everyone so no one could come and say that someone has "wrong" symptoms.


Ugh, I hate when that happens that you have different versions of a story. Then you have to decide which one you would write and it's not always so easy. For me it feels like the characters write the story and I just watch lol xD


But, on with the story and chapter 19- Yeah, Jim :( Oh poor poor Mike. I could almost feel that. Yay, Dave doing something! I hope he gets the truth out from Mike.


Chapter 20- Poor poor poor Mike. But I am soooooo glad he told. And glad that Dave listened. And I do get why he doesn't want to talk to a stranger. But still, the people need to get caught so maybe Mike could then try to move on. Ugh :( But I love Dave in this. Thank you!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-12-01

Chapter: 20

I like Dave's POV, too, and it would be cool to read more chapters in his POV.


This chapter was great, as always, and it was a huge step forwards for Mike. He really needs to talk about everything that has happened to him, and this was a start.


Please update soon :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-28

Chapter: 20

Ooookay... Yes, I indeed liked the POV here again. You did a really good job in describing how hard it all is on Dave, the helplessness and the fear to say or do something wrong. Being there person to go through something traumatic is hard but being the person that needs to be there for a victim must also be really hard. Good job!


And I'm so glad that Mike did this step. And I'm glad it wasn't Chester he talked to. I thought it would be the best because of someone understands, then it's the singer. But Dave has more resources right now to support Mike so I'm glad that it was him Mike decided to break the silence with.

This was such an important step to move forward. And it's good that it's out there before the whole world gets to know about the hostage. Because I think that the abuse is something Mike really don't want to have out there in public and he needs people that can help him dealing with it outside the public eye!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-18

Chapter: 18

That was great to read, a whole chapter from Dave's view! Normally I prefer to stick to one POV but in this story I'm dying to see what the others are thinking. So you really do mess with my head!! You not only make me worry about Mike and Ches but also change my preferred reading-habits :D


back tot he story-line. Holy shit! Again, I hate journalists. Poor Mike, they should have come up with a solution where he didn't need to be there as well; because it didn't help to keep the speculations down. Him losing his shit up there will only add to them now. But okay, hindsight is easier than foresight.

New situation, new solutions. I really hope that Greg can deal with it and I hope that someone is supporting Brad. I see that they all don't want to be in this situation and that they are overwhelmed but they can't just drop all the shit on the guitarist...

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-11-12

Chapter: 18

Mike needs to tell someone what happened to him, and everything what happened...I can't wait for the next update, thank you for this chapter :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-12

Chapter: 18

Mmmh... I'm not sure what to think about this. It's good that Chester told Mike because he needs to know. Better saying the truth then waiting for to come out by accident. But it shouldn't have been Chester telling him because he is worrying too much himself and cannot be the support Mike needs. I'm not sure if Mike would have let anyone else in and I'm glad that he still trusts Chester so fucking much. Even when he thought that his secret is coming out, he stayed and prepared himself for it to happen.


Is he maybe considering to actually tell someone? I still think it would be the right thing to do.


However, talking to management is also important. Because the press can't just dump all this shit on them. There needs to be some clarification. Did they ever think about to "use" Jim to cover up? I mean one if the closest team members died... When that's no reason for a break, I can't come up with one... Wondering how they feel about it anyway.


The short scene with Ches and the beer was... kind of hard to read. Because despite all the shit, Mike is still taking care of Ches and Ches is still listening to him, even though he feels judged and not loved. (which is really heartbreaking...)

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-11-11

Chapter: 18

Yes, we are still here and still enjoying the story :) My first thought was FFS MIKE!! "He was fine". Mike you are NOT fine. No matter how hard you try to believe in it. Forgetting stuff, getting lost in his thoughts. Poor stubborn thing. Oh my god the article... I knew it would be bad :( But poor Chester too. He really will drown into the guilt. Sigh. Still such a mess. Thank you again! <3

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-22

Chapter: 17

Yes, indeed, I got my answers! Not that I liked them, but hey, life is not a picnic... So I need to repeat myself: fucking journalists! This can do serious damage to Mike's health and I'm really concerned about him. How is he going to manage when they tell him? I think it's maybe good to have the guys around so that he feels a bit safer and not alone.

But they need to change some things. They need to talk to each other a bit more. Because right now they all seem to fall apart. Brad can't make his brain shut up about the 'what if's' and it would do him good to open up. Maybe not Mike, I'm not sure if he could handle the questions that Brad has in his head. Ches seems to be doing absolutely not ok. I guess it's a combination of him being involved, having witnessed the kidnapping, being hurt, worrying about Mike. He knows that Mike is hiding things (as does Brad I guess) and I really think he should talk to him again. Mike doesn't want to open up and it's good to give him his space - but he won't survive if he keeps bottling this up.

You see... I'm confused as well. Torn between letting them deal with it in their own time and at the same time I want them to figure things out. Bottom line: I want them all to be happy and well!


Don't see it happening soon if they don't come up with a plan that involves everyone. Dealing with the press and Mike and Ches and Brad and the band...

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-20

Chapter: 17

Good then, so I am able to catch up, lmao! xD Awwww! Even if it's just friendship it's precious <3 Not everything has to be about love or sex.


Oh no, poor Brad too :(( But I am so glad he is so smart and thinks about the signs and what is going on.


Chester <3 Sigh... The media will tear them apart. And Mike still needs to tell. Argh.


Thank you for the update! <3

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-10-20

Chapter: 16

Another great and interesting chapter, I like that your chapters are relatively long, so there's more to read.


I need to know what happens when Mike finds out about the photos!


Please update soon, I can't wait :)

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-07

Chapter: 16

God dammit you update fast xD Or I am just too slow= don't have time to read :S But here we are!


First chapter 15- The kids are too cute! I really like that you included them. And the flashback… You can probably see me grimacing here :S But Anna <3


Chapter 16- Mike ffs!! You really need to tell! The fighting over the food with Brad and Mike was too cute (yes yes I know no slash but that just shows how strong their bond is). Aaaand the ending… I kinda guessed something would happen. It all went too well :/ Poor Mike. Still, ugh. I like this story so much! Even though I feel so sorry for Mike.


Sidenote- Yeah, sometimes the characters just come part of us so I don't think that is weird at all O.O Awesome. Hope you will enjoy that then as much as I do this :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-03

Chapter: 16

I agree, Mike is definitely the typ of person that tries everything to get better and to not fall apart. And this chapter shows that as well. He decides to go out and meet Brad and that's great! he also managed to survive some awkward moments, like when Brad says he will tie him to the chair. It was nice to read the casual joking between them. I think it really helps Mike to get back to normal. He will get used to those moments where he feels triggered but it will hopefully get easier to just get over them.

The ending was... heavy. Fucking journalists. What do they even do there? Why now? What is happening?! I'm glad he made it inside safely and I hope Brad will be there to catch him. I really do...

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-25

Chapter: 14

Hello - it's me again :D


I just started Anna's book again and stumbled across the girls names and remembered that you asked for them, so here we go: Abba and Jojo - probably nicknames but the closest we get ;)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-22

Chapter: 14

I have the urge to apologize for all the spelling mistakes I made in the end of the review :D I don’t know what happened, but writing on my phone in my bed early in the morning doesn’t seem to work that well... so I was talking about Brad and not Bad; I wanted to STOP with all of my requests because so FAR it's great, so maybe I should back off and let you DO your thing :D


It feels like going through my own text with a red pen the way I do with my students papers. Sorry, I couldn’t help it, hope you don’t mind :p

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-22

Chapter: 14

The whole chapter I was in this state of mind: "He is doing ok. It's going to be fine." "But what IF something happens?" "He is not alone. Nothing bad is going to happen." "But you never know and what if he freaks?" "Anna is with him and he survived the episode with a fan." "But what if there is another incident and he loses it?"


I think your writing is really nicely reflecting on Mike's mind. You describe the situation he is in and for us - like the readers - there is nothing frightening about that. It's just a supermarket, he isn't alone, the girl is just a nervous fan. She can't read his mind and he doesn't need to be afraid of others figuring out what is going on inside of him.

So I'm completely calm about the situation. And at the same time I'm freaking out because I'm afraid that he will. That he will either panic or run or just break down. The same during the party. he is surrounded by friends and family and the guys are taking good care of him, letting him be. He can feel safe and I feel like he is safe. And again - at the same time I'm afraid that it is too much for him and that all of this "normality" is too early for him.


So I think your writing and what it does to me as a reader is similar to Mike's feelings.


And then the last scene comes and I was fucking right with my fears. Because it is going to take forever before he will not have flashbacks and panic and the feeling of complete safeness again. He NEEDS to talk to someone. Bottling this up is not going to lead anywhere. I mean I'm happy that he admits to Anna that he doesn't want to be alone and allows her to be there for him but that can't replace either therapy or at least opening up to family/friends.


Btw, can't wait for more interaction with the guys as well! Although I really would like to have another Mike/Chester scene. I think it is a wonderful bound that you create here and the chapter with them was so good. Oh, and I would like to have a Brad/Mike moment as well because they know each other longest and Bad had to deal with the kidnappers first and I'm curious how he feels right now.


but I will better sop with all of my requests and let you write whatever you planned :P Because so war it's great, so maybe I should back off and let you d your thing :D

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-09-19

Chapter: 14

Finally time to read.


Chapter 13- Oh god, what a mess. Poor Anna too, waaaa! She is really going to have hard times ahead, still. But glad she is there for Mike. And management can fuck off. Oh Ches! Yes, I would assume he will know instantly. But why would it matter? Though I do get why Mike is anxious :( Maybe Mike needs to talk to a professional...


Chapter 14- Them meeting again warms my pitch black heart! <3 Loved the moment, even though Mike is scared to open up. But he really has to. Really has to tell. Argh. But new music! Yes, I like that!



P.S. Yes. My 'poor Mike' box is always close by o.o The transition was perfect :) My story- well it's combination of soulmate AU (kinda) and rape recovery. Will start as soon as 'In My Remains' is finished. Hopefully. Unless the Kinktober and its friend prompts will cause trouble. And yes there's an update on SOTD :)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-09-17

Chapter: 14

I know this isn't Bennoda, but I couldn't help but see intimacy in Mike and Chester's reunion. I know best friends can be that way, so I calmed myself, haha. I'm thinking Chester might know more than he's letting on, or at the very least, is a good enough read on Mike's body language that he knows something is very, very wrong with Mike. I think Mike would feel better if he confided in Chester, even if it's hard.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-15

Chapter: 13

Hello, it's me again ;) And this will be a really torn review!

I'm happy that Mike allows Ches and Tali to come to visit BUT he shouldn't force himself if he isn't ready.

I'm happy that he tries to get back to his normal life BUT he can't pretend that everything is ok and that he doesn't remember.

I'm happy that he feels good when Chester is with him and that they create some kind of normality BUT he can't just hide what happened.


Do I understand it right that he told nothing? Like... He said he can't remember what happened after he bumped his head - but he was there for a while before that, did he really not say anything about that either?


And btw, I think Chester knows already. Mike was not able to make eye-contact and was really jumpy when it came to physical contact. Yes, that could be due to being held hostage, being mentally abused, being handcuffed. But I think that Chester knows. Maybe he doesn't feel good enough yet to ask Mike directly? Chester seems to be ok but also handicapped right now (and obviously he is really having trouble to not blame himself).

That was the hardest part to read - that Chester is blaming himself and Mike is trying to tell him that it wasn't his fault. They are both mentally and physically broken and still try to console each other and be best friends that make the pain go away. Mike is so concerned about Chesters mental health - even if he has to fight for his own health right now... Heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time <3

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-11

Chapter: 10

Sorry for not reviewing earlier, I was stuck with a bad internet connection (on holiday though, so I won't complain too much;)).


The last two chapters were really intense - although in a different way than the first part of the story. You can feel Mikes anxiety though every single word you write... And it really pulls at my heartstrings. It's so good to know that he is safe and that Anna is with him and at the same time I just want him to also FEEL safe! And in contrast to the reviewer below me - I totally understand that Mike is afraid to see Ches. The last time he saw him he got kidnapped and I guess seeing his friend will probably work like a trigger. And it seems that Mike hasn't told anyone about the abuse? Especially the sexual abuse? When I understood it right, he is most afraid that Chester will know what happened and Mike doesn't seem to be ready to share this part of the hostage...


Btw, I would kind of like to know how he finally got freed. Not that it matters, the only important thing is that he is back home. But still, kind of curios ;)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 10

Why is Mike worried about seeing Chester? I think that's weird. I would have thought he'd want to see him immediately. So... I don't get that at all.


Management needs to back off, but I'm sure they're wanting some sort of statement or something. But- correct me if I'm wrong- the whole thing was kept under wraps. So there's no need for a public statement or anything. So why bother him?


The emotional trauma is written very well. I can feel the anxiety in the scenes with Mike and Anna when Mike isn't in his right headspace. Well done getting those emotions across.


I still can't believe I can read this story at all, but that's just how good you are with the emotional aspect of things. Anxious for another chapter.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 56