LPfiction

Reviews

Tell Brad by malaiyas

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 8

I'm so happy he finally told Brad!! And I'm relieved that Brad took it well. I was expecting a true hissy fit, but no. He actually acted like an adult :) But now I have to wonder what's next? And was Brad's acceptance like, a first reaction and after it really sinks in he goes all crazy and ax murderer on everyone? Or maybe he follows Mike to NY and becomes a stalker?


Of course not, but that's what ran through my head lol


I really love Joe in this chapter. He's got that whole wise old guy vibe going on. Go, Joe! Even though he's not old. Still. He's got good perspective and I'm glad he shared it with Mike.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 8

He made it! So proud of Mike! Also that he doesn't really discuss it with Brad but just says that he will move, why he needs to do it and that he made up his mind. I was afraid that he will allow a huge argument which ends in him questioning his own decision. So I was glad that that didn't happen and that Brad managed to cope with it (more or less). Joe and Heidi were great in this, really supportive. Exactly what Mike needs. Now he can move to New York and find his place ;)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 8

Yesss! Finally! It's all out in the open and Brad (he did act like a dick for a moment, but I still maintain that Mike deserved every bit of it) is happy for Mike. Yaaaay!!! So now Mike, with Brad's somewhat reluctant blessing, is free to leave whenever he wants. I'm curious to find out if now that there's no obstacle in his way, Mike will still feel so hot about moving to NY. I honestly have no idea where this is going from here on, but I'm all for it. Joe was so wise and Heidi so cute! My only reproach against Brad was him being snappish toward her. So not nice. By the way, I loove how you create that tense atmospehere around and between the characters. It's subtle, but at the same time, so powerful. Great update! Can't wait wait for more.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-10-04

Chapter: 7

Been coming back to this site almost every day looking for an update to this fic... please update soon... I'm still waiting for Brad's reaction to Mike's news!! Please! Hugs

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-10

Chapter: 7

I'm so glad he finally told him! And yet we don't know Brad's reaction because of an evil cliffhanger. *sigh* Just love making us wait, don't you? lol I'm just happy Mike finally did it. Maybe it won't be so bad. Brad has Joe and other ppl. Although, I agree, that whole Mike appreciation thing, wow. Maybe Brad has some underlying issues going on. Clearly their relationship is complicated. I'm worried for Mike, but happy for him too. Can't wait to see what happens next! And never be sorry for a slow build, that's what makes it good :)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 7

FINALLY. I'm glad Mike got it out there. I hope we get a little bit more explanation as to why Brad is the way he is in the next chapter, but I'm relieved Mike finally told him. :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 7

Now it's out there... Even though I have no idea how Brad is going to react - I'm happy Mike found the strength to say it out loud. It was important to do that. And maybe it's good that they are in a social setting right now? So maybe Brad stays a bit calmer.


Btw, I had to laugh really hard when they tried to build the grill. reminded me of the last episode of Dave's podcast MemberGuest where he tells about the jacuzzi and how long it took to build that thing :D

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-09-07

Chapter: 7

I really cannot understand Mike in this fic.. he is literally driving me crazy! He is saying that Brad is his best friend, however he doesn't trust him enough to be able to be honest with him. He is dragging this way too long.. I was so afraid that someone else would be telling this news to Brad instead of Mike.. that would have been absolutely awful, but thanks God Mike was able to finally say it at the end.


Now let's see what kind of bullshit Brad would come up with.. worst case scenario would be that he is terminally ill or that he is love with him... but I really doubt Brad would do that, I think Mike is anticipating the worst and maybe things won't go that bad. And that little gesture was so cute: Mike appreciation day!! Awesome.. Please update soon.

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-09-05

Chapter: 7

I have to apologize for reviewing just now when I’ve been reading this for a couple of weeks already, but to make up for it, I’m writing a big ass review. I’ve been enjoying your story very much and I have a few things to say about it, which judging by other comments I read, differs a bit from the general opinion. So here it goes:


First of all, I'm biased. The Real Life Brad is my bae, so I’ve been rooting for your Brad since the very start. At first I was a bit hesitant and worried about his final reaction, but after reading this last chapter, I have to say I fully stand by Brad. I want to slap everyone who has talked shit about him behind his back in the face, [i]especially[/i] Mike. I mean, dude... It’s okay if you think Brad is selfish and conceited and annoying, and so on, but don’t pretend to be his “best friend” and then go behind his back to complain to the rest of your friends about how much his awful traits bother you or how hard they make your life. Just don’t be his friend. Period. Maybe trade his friendship for a more worth prioritizing one...like Joe's.


It really broke my heart when in his ignorance, Brad posted those Mike appreciation videos, and Mike and Dave took the opportunity to turn it around and used it to blame Brad for making it even more difficult for Mike to tell him the truth. Boohoo, poor you, Mike. I’m so sorry that your friend’s display of affection for you is making your life so darn difficult. Pfff! No Mike. It’s [i]your[/i] fault, you and your cowardice that’s making it difficult, not Brad.


And then when Brad spilled his water…? Oh, my heart! The way Mike went on about how he [i]always[/i] does that…Like….what? Dude, c’mon. He spilled [i]water[/i], he didn’t punch you in the face. I don’t know if it’s my bias, but I feel like everyone is vilifying Brad for the most minimal transgressions. I want to protect him so bad. xD


Also, I was rooting for Brad to surprise everyone in the end and act the exact opposite of what everyone expects him to, but at this point, I don’t think Mike even deserves it. So I’ll continue to root for him even if he has a total bitch fit and smashes that avocado on Mike’s face. What kind of friend waits until the last minute to break such important news to their “best friend” —while knowing how much it would affect them— instead of telling them from the very start and using the time left to spend time together? Not a good one, I have to say. Still, Brad will probably forgive Mike anyway since he seems to have a pretty forgiving nature. XD Sorry, I’m not a big fan of Mike in this fic. I truly hope that was your intended purpose, cuz it’s working. I will say one thing in Mike’s defense, though. I do think he’s having a harder time coping with leaving his home town than he’d envisioned and he may be having doubts about the whole Moving-to-New-York thing, and he doesn’t want to admit it to himself.


Still, not cool to blame Brad for it, Mike!


Ehem…As you can see I have very strong opinions on your story, but I absolutely love it! The way you’ve written the buildup is amazing. It has been torture, but the good kind of torture…if that’s even a thing. I’ve been at the edge of my seat yelling at my screen for Mike to “just spill it out already!” Anyway, thank you for sharing this lovely story. I am sooo looking forward to Brad’s reaction.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-08-28

Chapter: 6

I've a hard time figuring out my feelings for Brad in this story. Yes, it is selfish and he seems to be really conceited. But hey, if you have the feeling that you belong somewhere, than that's how it is. And it feels a bit like: "I need you." Even though he says that Mike needs him - I kind of have the feeling that he just really enjoys having Mike close by, also for his own sake. And that's what friends normally do: being happy about time together. So I can't be really mad. But I also see that it is a problem for Mike to tell him and that he is afraid.


Dave is an excellent friend - he finds the right words. Maybe he could be with Mike when he tells Brad? As a buffer and a supervisor?

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 6

Ok by the way everybody talks about Brad, he is extremely annoying and selfish... this comment: " I especially couldn’t leave Mike here. What would he do without me?”... I'm not sure how Mike can keep up with that bullshit! For real, looks like the only one that can stands Brad is Mike.. I'm also afraid of Brad's reaction when Mike finally decides to tell him... he for sure would want to sabotage the whole thing... hopefully not.. Good luck with that Mike!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-27

Chapter: 6

Oh man. That whole conversation with Brad was just nerve wracking. Seriously. I kept waiting for the "news" to come out and it never did. I thought for sure one of Dave's questions would prompt Mike to do it. And Dave's totally right. Mike should give Brad some notice, so to speak. That way they can spend a last couple of great days together or whatever. You know what I'm really worried about? And I'm probably insane for thinking this because I know I'm wrong, but I keep thinking that when Mike goes to tell him....Brad's going to come back with "I'm sick" of some sort. Like he has cancer or something. And Mike will never tell him and he'll never move. Yes, I know that's not going to happen, but that won't stop rolling around in my brain.


I think Dave is an excellent friend in this. As someone who has moved around her whole life, I really appreciate his supportive nature.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 5

Welcome back! *hugs* I've missed seeing you around the site lately, and I've missed this story! You should have seen my face brighten up when I saw it updated.


I like Mike's convo with Rob.Rob seems super informed, and the moment he mentioned Chester's name, my heart fluttered. I've been waiting for him to show up, and he's a realtor! (one of my dream jobs in RL). I'm glad he's such a nice guy, and now Mike even has a job lined up. It's really happening for him. I'm excited to see him finally take that plunge. And I know exactly what he means about his path not being in L.A. Sometimes a move/change is necessary and I fully support him taking the bull by the horns on this.


Now he just has to tell Brad. I'm really hoping Brad will do better than Mike thinks. I hope Brad will remember that Mike is his friend, and not an evil person just trying to hurt him.


I adore this story.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 5

You won't believe how glad I am that you decided to post this! It's been soo long and I truly missed this fic, it's so genuine and fresh.. I love that everything is taking shape for Mike, a change like this is huge, tell me about it! I did something similar several years ago and it was the best thing that ever happened to me in all aspects of my life.

I like Rob's character in this, he is being such a good friend for Mike... I hope Mike can tell Brad soon, he will make things worse by waiting so long to tell him, even if he is selfish that didn't mean he is a bad friend, is just the way he is, they just need to talk things through. I have a soft spot for Brad, so please be nice... ^_^


And Chester, thanks for including him here and in such a way, I suspect he will become very important in Mike's upcoming life in NY.. Aww I'm so excited about this fic and where it goes!! Thanks for writing!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-08-20

Chapter: 5

Yay! So glad you're back! We've missed you!


I like how Rob called out Brad for not being a great friend. He was awesome to set Chester up for that interview, though Talinda seemed kind of weird, what's up with that?


YAY! So happy to see this update!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-08-20

Chapter: 5

It has been a while since I reviewed - sorry for that! I'm still reading, just didn't manage to leave a few words. But now!


A job and a flat in the offing - it's going smooth for Mike! No he just needs to find the courage to tell Brad (so far, so obvious). I know the kind of people that he describes and they can be really good friends - but it's still super hard to tell them such stuff then. So I see where Mike's hesitation is coming from. Still, he need to tell it, he can't wait until the day he leaves ;)

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-08-20

Chapter: 5

Super weird. I was just yesterday thinking about this story and how are you doing. Glad you are still continuing it!


Chester! Lmao! That's brilliant xD


Poor Mike though :( If he is really that scared about Brad's reaction... ugh. He is good friend, he will understand. The longer he will wait the harder it well get. And I assume Brad would also be angrier then... :S

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-15

Chapter: 4

It's been so long since your last update!! I wonder if you will ever come back to this fic... I miss your writing... Please come back soon :-)

From: tfybike

Date: 2018-06-13

Chapter: 3

“Can we take a shot?” Brad asked out of nowhere, and Mike sighed.


“You know how I feel about shots,” Mike answered, and Brad smirked.


“But you never say ‘no.’”


“Why does that sound so rapey?”


OMG. SO GOOD!

From: Clara Bassett

Date: 2018-06-13

Chapter: 3

This story is so good and I really enjoy reading it! Please continue!

Reviews 1 to 20 of 38