LPfiction

Reviews

Devil's Drop by Penelope_Ink & lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-01-05

Chapter: 30

God! I hate Mark so much! You guys are doing a great job in making him a despicable person.. I understand Mike in not being able to contain himself, I don't know how Chester could keep up with such a situation for such a long time... I was mad at Chester for not being able to stand up for himself when Mark was trying to force him, I understand that he acted that way out of fear... but dammit he is letting Mark to do with him what he wants, if not for Mike...


Mike needs to understand also that things were probably different for Chester before he came into the picture.. I mean I don't think Chester had any issues before with being with Mark.. he was taking advantage of all those things Mark was offering him such as the beautiful loft.. etc.. Mark was treating him completely different than the other guys.. so that's something Mike needed to consider before getting himself into this problem...


Mike shouldn't be so jealous of Ryan by the way.. he is being so unfair.. the poor guy just wants to help... and Amir he is so annoying.. also kudos to Jason for being able to help out in this situation.. that final scene with all of them painting was so cute and brings some kind of hope... and yes they should work together in finding a way to get out of YRS before something really bad happens.

From: Cissoye

Date: 2019-01-01

Chapter: 30

Only reading the title of this chapter I could imagine what would happen and damn, what a scene.


My heart was beating so fast while Ches was in this room with Mark. I was waiting and praying for Mike to show up and just shove the asshole away but, man, when he actually showed up and did just that- It got quite scary. I don't know if things will keep escalating but I totally felt Mike's fear at the moment. The story has such a "real" feel to it that the sudden violence hit me straight in the face.


You know, more often than not violence in stories/movies is made more "grandiose" than it would be in real life. For the impact to be greater and for readers/viewers to feel it, things tends to be made more "excessive" than they would be irl. And I'm not blaming anyone for doing that (I think I tend to do that too), but I like how well you've managed to transcribe a more "simple" violence so well. In real life, when you witness violence, it's something scary and impressive, even if only one punch was thrown and shouts and insults shot at each other. As minime as it can sound put on paper (one punch and a lot of yelling and trying to get into confrontation) this doesn't feel like nothing at all when you're living it in real life, and I experienced that in this chapter.


Like, Chester was hit once, it could "sound" like nothing that bad or frightening, but in the moment, in his situation, it felt terrifying.


And Mike shoving Mark away and getting shoved into a wall and having his arm grabbed don't sound that violent, but the scene was vibrant to me and my pulse was beating so fast as I read through it.


I can't wait to see what will happen next once Mark is awake and Mike and Chester have to keep living with their new life and this guy being part of it.


On a brighter note :


The coloring scene was just so adorable, I so expected the whole cast to start coloring around the table like kids in pre-school, and I really like the boys. I like their interactions and characters and I like how I grew fond of them around the same time Mike realized if he hadn't met them in such circumstances, they would be nice guys (to him).


Speaking of nice guys, Ryan's totally got me in this chap. I never disliked him, despite Mike's clear dislike for the guy xD but I was more neutral to him than anything else, but here I finally opened my eyes to what a good friend he is and I really want for him and Jason to be happy, those poor guys.


And just to say a few words about the muffin scene, when Mike got his third I wanted to scream at him "PUT THE MUFFIN DOWN AND GET YOUR ASS UPSTAIRS!" It was so obvious something was going on with Chester because of this title and all this Mike thinking about things being okay without him intervening just yet and getting another muffin. Man, I made a rant in previous chapter about his jealousy but damn, I wanted him to stalk Chester's ass from the minute he was gone. I think I'm really starting to understand Mike better here with this chapter (or maybe I was just in a foul mood when I read the other chapter and only focused on Mike's 'bad' behavior).


Speaking of which, I tend to forget how damn young they are in this story. 19 if I'm not mistaken, right ? Thank you for the little reminder before the chapter about that and how they're both new to the whole couple thing and are learning how to handle it. My mind tends to expect them to be in a lot more mature stage of their life than they are, so I can understand better the immaturity of their reactions and feelings.


I don't know where this all will go, but if Ches and Mike get to pull through all this and have a life together, I can't wait to see them get more secured in their relationship. You said they're both scared of losing each other and it now worries me cause every time something or someone threatens to pull them apart I'm inwardly yelling at them (mostly at Mike) to fucking trust each other and not listen to anything anyone has to say about them. I was so happy when Mike didn't react badly to what happened in the room, I would have hated him if he'd yelled at Chester and blamed him for something he didn't want. My mind went in every directions possible when he showed up to this scene and I was praying so hard for him to not jump to the wrong conclusion.

I would have yelled at my screen if he'd reacted any other way he did.



I don't know if I make any sense, I feel like I'm all over the place but it's getting late and I wanted to leave a review since I read the chapter and decided to do it before I could forget for real xD And this chapter made me feel a few things that make me speak too much with no real coherence or order xD



The bottom line if I love your writing. I love how you write scenes and interactions and emotions and I just can't wait for more of this story!


Thank you for such a piece!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-01-01

Chapter: 30

God, i hate Mark so much. He's such a slimy, disgusting, violent bastard. The chapter was great though, like they all are.


I liked when Mike tried to calm CHester down with coloring, that was too cute! And then the other guys wanted to color, too, which was also cute. I just want Mike and Chester to be happy, but I guess it will take a while until they can leave this work...


Please update soon!

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2018-12-31

Chapter: 30

I can see things going so so badly with Mark. I kept just screaming "Shut up!" at Mike. He has got to learn how to hold his tongue. I keep waiting for Chester to snap and be done with all of Mike's gallant protector stuff. I wish he would. I love Mikey but it's just getting repetative and annoying. How much does he have to see to realize Chester and the guys are being serious when they talk about how things go with Mark? Ya'll are doing an amazing job bringing Mike and Chester's characters to life and showing how they're evolving. Enough so that I'm actually sick of Mike ;). Looking forward to the next chapter!! And Happy New Year!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2018-12-31

Chapter: 30

Wow. As Im sure you can imagine, I have a lot to say lol Right away, I knew this chapter would be rough one by the title.


I love Mike's thoughts in the beginning about knowing Chester loves him and how meaningful their relationship is. Mike just needs to hold on tightly to those facts and try to make it through the next two years. Easier said than done though, of course.


Mark's accusations were pissing me off as much as they were pissing Mike off. I wanted to deck him. Like, what the fuck? I was getting so nervous that Mike would believe him but Im so thankful he had enough faith in Chester to see through Mark's bullshit.


As for what Mark did to Chester...I don't have words. I couldn't hate him more. Just...argh, what a piece of shit. His power tripping and how it was turning him on? Gross. And then Mike and Mark *sighs* I dreaded everything coming to this but what else was Mike supposed to do? There's no way he was going to walk in on that and have a calm reaction.


Brad's prediction about Chester in a flannel came true. I just wish it wasn't under such shitty circumstances. Despite the circumstances, this gave me hope that Brad's also right about Mike and Chester getting married? God, I hope so. I have mentioned needing a happy ending before, right?


Love the scene with everyone coloring. And how badly Mike wants Ches to smile and saying he'd draw a whole ocean full of animals to make it happen ❀️


Like Mike and Chester, Im worried about next time and how much worse it could get. I know Mike's parents are assholes but Im sorta rooting for Mike to reach out to them. Just to see. Maybe they'll help? I think it's worth a shot anyway.


This isn't an insult at all but I really hate how the chapter ended with Chester still being out of sorts. I was hoping to see him perk up a little. Rationally, I know begging for speedier updates doesn't actually work but Im going to try anyway 😝Please update soon? πŸ˜‡ Im also torn between wanting a continuation of this or a jump to fluff/slash in the loft. As you know, you have me hooked with this story so Im here for whatever.


Side note...I loved the ocean theme with the drawings. If my username isn't a dead giveaway, I love anything to do with the ocean/beach. I actually got a tattoo on my forearm two weeks ago with a mermaid tail, a seahorse, seaweed, and bubbles lol So, yeah, I thought that was cute. 😊

From: halvlang

Date: 2018-12-31

Chapter: 30

WTF is happening?! I expected things to not go too well but I fore sure didn't expect things to escalate like that...


Poor Chester. In the end he is still the one that gets forced into situations that he doesn't want to be in. I felt so freaking bad for hi when Mark came into the room and forced himself onto him, first mentally and then physically. So glad that Mike ran into it, even though I would have preferred that he and Mark would not get into an even larger fight than they are already in...


I really appreciate Ry and Jason by now, they have enough own problems and still help to sort out Mike's and Chester's. I know that the situation is influencing everyone in that house because they all in that together and have Benn through similar things but I still think that it would end even worse if they wouldn't interfere and calm everyone down - Mark and Mike.


Ches just seems to be an even bigger mess and I don't know how he can get out of it. Yes, moving out of the flat would be possible but then he is probably loosing his job and argh... Mark is really such an asshole. He can do whatever he wants and Ches kind of has to play along. I hate that. I'm even so far that I think it would have been better if he would never let Mike in his life (at this point of time, only when his contract was over), because than he would still be in a shitty situation but without feeling guilty towards his boyfriend at least. On the other hand, the love to Mike maybe keeps him sane.


Ok, as you see, I'm all over the place. I love how Mike tries to calm Ches by drawing things and I love that everyone is joining in. Art is helpful and they all need that after the things that happened the last days and in the morning.


I kind of want to know what happens in the afternoon and if Mark really doesn't remember but on the other hand I would like you guys to just skip a few days and jump into a day with only Mike and Ches... Let's see what it's going to be!

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-12-28

Chapter: 29

For some reason, I'm thinking that maybe Mike's behaviour will be the cause of their heart break.. it this happens at some point... When he stormed out and left I just thought he was being a little unfair to Chester.. but I cannot help being also on Mike's side.. this is a lot for him to take at once.


And of course the biggest mistake Mike made was leaving his friends and work behind just for his boyfriend.. When you leave everything for a relationship.. then what happens if such relationship doesn't work? You are left with nothing else.. now he is going thru all of this and doesn't even have anyone on his side to turn to and very some advice.


It's also a little worrisome that Chester doesn't want to talk about the future with Mike He shouldn't be afraid of saying what he wants for himself.. even though I completely disagree that he wants to stay at YRS doing behind the camera work once his contract is over.. I don't think Mark would leave him alone, he knows Mark wants him so he shouldn't even be suggesting something like this.. but still he should be able to express himself freely without having to worry about Mike's reactions or to get things imposed on himself.


Mike's reaction when Ryan called is also a little questionable and Chester being afraid all the time about Mike's reactions is unsettling.. you guys are doing a great work at conveying all of this emotions in this fic.. Its getting more and more complex with each chapter. Cannot wait to see what's coming next.

From: halvlang

Date: 2018-12-26

Chapter: 29

Glad that they are clean and talked it out. It's what people should do - talk about it. I don't understand Mike all the time but at least he is wolfing to share his thoughts with Ches, so that they both know what the other person is feeling and thinking. Everything else would just make things more difficult!


But Mike really needs to learn that Ches is also friends with his co-workers, especially with Ryan. So obviously he calls him - I was glad that he did, even though Mike said he should just write. Because he needs to stay strong sometimes and not let Mike dictate him what to do and what not!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-12-23

Chapter: 29

I think Mike is a little too jealous...but I'm glad they talked and they're clean. They still have a lot of things to work out between them, but they'll get through it. What was absolutely wrong was Ryan's reaction when Chester told him on the phone that Mike needed some time or whatever. You don't just leave a relationship because there are a few tiny problems, you work through them, god dammit ;)


Anyway, great chapter, and please update soon!

From: Cissoye

Date: 2018-12-22

Chapter: 29

And just to finish, because I dunno what I clicked on my keyboard for the message to be posted before I could edit it -_- I want to say thank you guys for this great chapter and I can't wait to read more (and I'm hoping Mike won't get on my nerves too much xD). Man, he's my fav, how could you do this to me, haha.

From: Cissoye

Date: 2018-12-22

Chapter: 29

Alright, I'll start this review by telling you guys what I'm gonna say here has nothing to do with your writing or plot or anything, it's just how I feel since last chapter. I wanted to leave a review last chapter to comment on the exact same thing but, well, I kinda did something else and forgot, haha.


So, I have to say Mike's rubbing me the wrong way since last chapter. I don't know why I suddenly felt like that (considering he's been pretty possissive and jealous for a while), but the pool scene from chmade me from in displeasure. I feel like Mike's jealousy isn't getting better, even though he says he's working on it. The pool scene was an overreaction and I felt so bad for Chester. I certainly should congratulate you guys for making me cringe at Mike's reaction (that's proof of great writing ^^) but, man, did Mike got on my nerves here xD


After calming down (lol) and reading a few reviews and all, I could understand he's having trouble being around all the YRS boys and everything. Man, he's having it freaking hard there with the filming and the photoshoot, so I get he's not in his best state of mind. But at the time I kinda was sucked into the joyful ambiance at the pool for the shoot and Mike's reaction just felt like a dump in the water ;P


This chapter though helped me understand why his behavior and jealousy in this relationship got to me like it did. I just can't stand how possessive he is and how it affect Chester. He doesn't realize that his excessive jealousy is a form of abuse and could really damage Chester if he doesn't work on it seriously. I hate how Chester's already worried about Mike's reactions when he does this or that. I hate that because of Mike's jealousy Chester feels like not talking to his friend. Mike's showcasing too much abusive behaviors I can't really look past and just think how cute Bennoda is together, I just can't. I don't know if it's part of the plot (Mike's jealousy and how it affects his partner and what he's actually gonna do to change that) or if it's done unconsciously, but at this point I'm having a hard time seeing the cute and lovable couple they are when Mike's not being jealous and making Chester feel like he should watch his own behavior to not upset Mike or something.


Then, again, I get the situation's not great at the moment. Mike's dealing with a lot and this STD's news totally justify him freaking out, but what this showed me (besides that) is how Chester's behavior is already shaping around Mike's jealousy. I don't like how Mike just wants Chester all for himself. I, in general, don't like how some people/characters use the "You're Mine" line, because it encompasses everything that's wrong in a lot of relationships out there. People don't belong to other people and to come back to your story (sorry, I can get carried away xD) what I see is that with Mike's behavior Chester could get isolated from who he considers his friends just to avoid upsetting his boyfriend, and it's not alright with me. Man, he's even worried about telling Mike what he wants to do after YRS, and in a healthy relationship he shouldn't be. He shouldn't be afraid of his partner's reaction to what HE desires for himself and his life and wellbeing and should be able to count on Mike to support him and still love him in whatever choices he makes for his life.


I do get the situation's special and Mike has a long way to go (with the all porn thing and how to properly love his partner without being controlling and possessive). I know it's hard for him to find a balance between the shit Mark can do and puts his employees through, and I love that he's standing up to the asshole to protect Chester, but boy, he needs to realize he doesn't have to protect Chester against EVERYONE. Even if other people look at his lover, it doesn't mean he's gonna fuck them.


The point of this review is Mike needs to work his shit out and stop being such an asshole to poor Chester. The guy's full of love and understanding and tolerance and doesn't deserve to be treated like this. He has and had it hard enough like that and he should be able to find comfort and support in his lover's arms instead of getting stressed out over his reactions.


Long ass review, I know, but this subject always gets to me. I can't not say how I feel about it even if I try to, haha.

From: allby2000

Date: 2018-12-22

Chapter: 29

The best thing for they relationship is leave this work! Mike he's feeling so insecure, it's too sad see him like that. πŸ˜₯

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2018-12-21

Chapter: 29

So happy you guys updated this! πŸ˜ƒ I say that like it's been forever when it really hasn't lol but, still, so, so happy!


"Why did I have to fall in love with him?" <---You guys πŸ’”...you have no idea how emotional that one line made me. My eyes teared up instantly. Even though I understand why, it hurt my heart for Mike to question that. I get it though. This whole situation is so fucked up and they are both so young yet. I sorta forget sometimes that they're only 19 and 20 in this fic. You guys did an amazing job conveying all of Mike's mixed emotions before he went back into the loft. I was totally, 100% on that emotional roller coaster ride with him.


Definitely didn't appreciate Ryan's advice for Chester about Mike. Basically-fuck Mike if he doesn't understand. That's pretty harsh in my opinion. I know Ryan was probably just getting defensive because of his own feelings/issues dealing with everything at YRS but still...not okay.


Chester wanting to work behind the scenes after his contract is up-which I now remember he had mentioned before but I totally forgot *face palms*-is the definition of bad idea. The best thing for his relationship with Mike is to leave YRS asap. There is no way in hell I see Mike being okay with Chester having anything to do with that place once the contracts are over. And I don't blame him.


Of course, Im happy their tests came back clean. Also, Im all about Chester in his birthday suit with just that spiked collar on πŸ˜‰Hoping we get to see what happens once Mike gets to the bedroom? They sooo deserve some hot, celebratory, spiked collar sex. And it would be good for your readers too lol

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-12-19

Chapter: 28

Well all I can say is that this whole thing at YRS is messing up with Mike's nerves and behavior.. first Ryan mentioning all those special things that Mark does for Chester..I don't want Mike to worry that Chester won't be able to leave YRS even when his contract is over. And then that scene at the pool and that jealousy resurfacing again. Poor Mike had changed a lot since this fic started. I don't blame him for that though.


I feel kinda sad for Chester after seeing Mike's reaction to the STD tests. How could he possibly not know that Chester was having sex with everyone? Well I guess Chester should have told him that to begin with. Hopefully Mike can come back and they can talk things thru., before making any harsh decisions.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-12-18

Chapter: 28

Maybe it's good that Mike goes for a walk around the block. Clearing his head might be a good idea, I just hope he stays with Chester no matter what. And the lines 'He hates me. Or worse...he thinks I'm dirty. Maybe I am.' really hurt. I like this insight into his mind.


please update soon!

From: halvlang

Date: 2018-12-17

Chapter: 28

I have a hard time understanding Mike here. I see that he is still struggling with the whole situation but he made it through a few weekends already and the photos... That was really not the worst I guess but still, he is not dealing really well with it.


I don't say he should and I think it's really in character that he is nervous and kind of freaking out, but he needs to stop being jealous; and I don't talk about the last bit of the chapter but the pool scene. It was joking and playing around, with people he knows. It's not that Ches tried to do anything bad, he was just trying to have fun and Mike, even though for him this is the opposite of fun and relaxed, needs to calm himself down in those situations before he makes a scene.


The end, that was different. That Chester never told him that he had different partners, was really not ok. One could say that Mike could have known but Chester knows that Mike has no clue about the business and should have been more honest. I mean... I understand why he didn't but now that kind of crashes back on him. But running out is never a solution and I hope that Mike is back soon. And that the medical results will be ok. And even more: that they will be ok.

From: allby2000

Date: 2018-12-14

Chapter: 28

I feel so bad for both of them... But they will be okay, I hope...

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2018-12-13

Chapter: 28

Omg! 😒 Im so sad right now! Mike has to come back and they have to talk and they have to be okay. I had a feeling after their vacation the shit storm would really officially start so Im thinking I better buckle up now. I feel so bad for both of them. Im going to go crazy waiting for the next update 😳😳


Mike's reaction to the rough housing in the pool is a perfect example of his jealousy going too far. Total cringe moment. I do feel for him because everything at YRS is out of his comfort zone but this was reminiscent of the pizza boy incident. Not good at all.


I thought it was sweet of Chester to go over to Mike at the piano and try to calm his nerves about taking his shirt off. I think he sorta did it out of necessity too but I found it sweet nonetheless. Also, I love that they get lost in each other and the moment when they're supposed to be doing things for the camera. So, so cute.


The whole time Ryan was talking about all the things Mark does/has done for Chester I had this bad feeling. I just know Mark isn't going to keep his promise of Ches being off limits. He'll figure out some slime ball way to still get what he wants. Even if he has to coerce Chester through threats against Mike. I don't put anything past that asshole.


A couple little, I guess, side notes. Love Amir's "I dont give a shit attitude". That's great lol I agree that Ryan and Jason really need to be careful. Mark doesn't seem to miss much and he's already catching on that something is off. And, sadly, Im leaning more towards Chester actually having a drinking problem and that coming into play in the near future πŸ™


Good Lord, Im so invested in this story lol Looking forward to the next chapter and hoping these boys can pull through all the drama.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-12-07

Chapter: 27

Hey guys I really love the way you describe them together so natural, all these teasing over clothes and food is adorable!! And Chester is right! Sour cream makes everything taste better.


Soo, Chris! Not even sure how to approach him.. I don't like him at all, he is so full of himself.. kudos to Mike for ending things with him before, not sure how he could be with someone like him by the way, but the fact that Chris was the one pursuing Mike explains a lot of things. I love the way Chester handled the whole situation. When he walked into Chris touching Mike, I thought he was going to make a scene which it was not the case.


I gotta admit sex against the wall is really really hot, but I think Mike is getting a little bit carried away, I know that will probably bring a lot of trouble between them in the future, which I would gladly welcome since by now you should both know that jealous and possessive Mike is my favorite, so do not hesitate to bring it on.


The rum bit had me thinking and wishing that Chester will not go into that path as a way of dealing with his problems at YRS because that would be awful.

From: halvlang

Date: 2018-12-07

Chapter: 27

Not a lot of time but still wanted to leave you a few words.


Chester and food... That's really nearly as good as reading the sex scenes - he is so into it :D But I understand him, sour cream is amazing, you can't have enough of it.


Glad that they decided to take some time together and the shooting didn't seem to interfere too much with their private intimacy. I was wondering that Mike was so "careless" but he also realised it and stoped himself. So that had a good ending. And the collar... Sigh... More of this please!


The bottle in Ches' bag, I wasn't wondering about it before when he packed it. Maybe he thought they won't get any drinks at the hotel and he wanted to make sure? If he brought it because he NEEDS it, then we are having a problem and I hope Mike have the guts to bring it up!

Reviews 121 to 140 of 259