LPfiction

Reviews

Devil's Drop by Penelope_Ink & lpfan503

Add review

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-02-13

Chapter: 34

I need to admit that I understand why Ches got drunk. I don't say that it is something that he should keep doing or that it solves the problem but I think it is okay to get carried away when so much shit is happening and you just want to shut up your mind for a moment. And Ryan was with him and Ches knew that he would take care of him, so he could just let go. So yes... not ideal but understandable and maybe it was also good so that Ches was able to really let everything out while talking to Ryan and not hold back.


That Mike also reached out to someone was good because I got the feeling that he was really absorbed into the relationship and I was afraid that he would have the feeling that Ches is the only person he can talk to - and seen the fact that he was kind of mad at Ches (like not for the video but that he looked up the comments and maybe also that he "dragged" Mike into his situation). So that he went to see Joe was really a relief for me!


And then coming back to an empty flat and thinking about Ches and Ryan? I mean... I understand that he is concerned but he really needs to accept that Ryan is a friend and they need all the support they can get; no matter of they stay or run. So he should be happy that Ches gets supported by Ryan and that Ryan offers a shoulder to lean on, especially when Mike decides to run instead of staying and talking things out. I'm not really mad at him but I'm still struggling to understand him sometimes. But anyway, they are back together and they are still so adorable together. Drunk Ches is great and carrying Mike as well!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-02-12

Chapter: 34

As much as I hate Chester drinking because I do think he does it excessively to cope with everything, he was too friggin' cute when he was drunk. In fact, I found drunk Chester sooo cute I almost felt ashamed of myself o_O lol He does need to be careful though because the drinking could spiral out of control quickly.


I love Mike taking care of Chester and Chester trying to smooth things over with cheese sticks. Not a bad idea ;)


The conversation between Mike and Ryan had me feeling a bunch of different things. Like, I was cringing a little. Mike was brutally honest with his feelings about everything and it kinda came across as an attack on Ryan when I know he's mostly angry at Mark and Jason right now. But Ryan is with Jason so, of course, Ryan will take that to heart. Plus, Mike isn't completely okay with Ryan or his friendship with Chester yet and that was seeping through too while they were talking. Plus, Chester cares a lot for Ryan and Mike so, if they're fighting, that just puts extra strain on everything. Ugh. I don't know. I'm probably not making sense. Just know that their conversation made me feel uncomfortable which was probably your intent so, good job! lol


I'm really, really curious to know what all happened when Jason tried to leave to Mark/YRS. Hopefully that gets discussed at some point.


There were two lines in this chapter that really hurt. The first one was Chester thinking he's ruining Mike's life. :( Like, gah, I wanted to hug him. I don't like him feeling that way. The second was Mike thinking that him and Chester aren't supposed to end because of Mark. :'( I wanted to shout, "I know!" They can't end because of that asshole. Mark can NOT win. Again, karma needs to come for him. Like, yesterday. (But not really because I don't want this to end yet :p)


Oh, and I love the title of this chapter! I was smiling right away lol


I'm incredibly happy Mike and Chester are okay again. You know I love these two <3 I know it can't last though and, for some reason, I'm hooked on this roller coaster ride of a story ;)


As always, waiting (im)patiently for the next update! :)

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-02-12

Chapter: 34

I adored this chapter, it was so cute! On the one hand, Chester's drinking is really bad, but on the other, he was so cute while he was drunk, and it was nice to see how he wanted to convince Mike not to be mad at him. The way Mike cared for him in the shower was absolutely adorable (I know that I use this word a lot, but it just describes their relationship in this story).


I think Mike should start trusting Ryan and stop being so negative towards him. Ryan is Chester's friend, and Mike should accept that they are close.


Can't wait for the next chapter, please update soon :)

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-02-09

Chapter: 33

This fic is getting so heavy... exactly the way I like them full of angst, drama... the inclusion of an actual villain it makes it extraordinarily interesting. You're doing an excellent job here with Mark's character. It makes me really curious to know who is actually writing Mark.


I couldn't leave a review for the prior chapter so I will point out some things that I liked.. starting with Chester shutting Mike down after the earlier incidents at YRS.. it's pretty believable to see him acting that way.. even not wanting sex, he is starting to get depressed and that is something I was expecting at some point in this fic due to the heavy subjects.


That scene in the piano room was absolutely sexy, hot, so intimate and it was definitely one the best erotic scenes you've written and perfect for what you were planning to do. I suspected something bad would come out of it since they were always so careful and this time they just threw all self control out the window deciding to have sex out in the open. Maybe those cursed blankets did their job and brought bad luck into them? Just Brad will know.. Yep.


And then the next chapter just proved it so well.. when this guy Noah started to describe the scene... I was like hell no! Jason couldn't be such asshole to do that to them.. it was really a harsh dose of reality.. I still don't blame Jason here since he's also a victim of Mark's bad deeds but he should at least have warned them about it.


The confrontation between Mike and Jason and then between Mike and Mark was written also really well.. I felt bad for Mike having to suck it up and finally submitting to Mark... but that was the best he could have done. I was happy to see Mike and Chester having little happy times together towards the end, when Mike was cooking and trying to confort Chester.. that was cute.


But then again when they were confronting each other and yelling, that was kind of heartbreaking. This whole situation is making irreparable damage to their relationship. Mike needs to speak to someone and not bottle all of this anger inside, maybe he can talk to his friends? Maybe Anna or Dave.. please update soon..

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-02-08

Chapter: 33

Not a single second during the last chapter I thought about cameras in the house. So I was as shocked as Mike and Chester... I'm kind of happy that this stupid new kid (sorry, I couldn't suppress this) was such a fanboy and went on and on, because otherwise they would have probably not find out that fast; and I think it is important that they know about this video being online. Yes, it causes them trouble, but at least it does so now and not in a couple of months.


And then I try to not be mad at Jason but can't help to be a bit on Mike's side here. I know that he needs to to stuff he doesn't want to and normally I understand that he has a hard life and tries to survive his relationship with Mark. But this time, I'm actually a bit pissed as well.


The confrontation between Mark and Mike was maybe the hardest part to read. Mike submitting to him was making me so aggressive. I hate it. I really do. Mike fighting for himself and for Ches made all of this so much more bearable because I knew that he would do everything to keep Ches safe. Now I'm not sure anymore and that feelings sucks.


I was happy that Mike was still able to help Ches and make sure that he gets some rest. He cares so deeply and that they went home together, had food together... that was nice to read. That it ends with Mike leaving (again) was a bummer though... Mike, don't run!! It's not helping!!

From: Taytay

Date: 2019-02-05

Chapter: 33

Long time lurker needed to log on to say how much I love this story! Please keep it up 💕

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-02-04

Chapter: 33

Man, I should have known there are cameras in the piano room, and probably there are cameras in almost every room in that house. I really thought Jason could be trusted, but uploading the scene in the piano room was really the wrong thing to do. I'm so scared for Mike and Chester, and of course, I hope for a happy ending, like I always do because I love happy endings, but sometimes, I'm not sure how this story will end.


Mark intimidating Mike was kind of scary to read, he's such an ass and I want him gone, god dammit!


Please update soon, I need to know what happens next!!!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-02-03

Chapter: 33

I'm going to have to do a list review for this chapter...


1.) Confession time...when I can tell a chapter is going to be a rough one by the title, I usually skim through first before actually reading just to get an idea of what's coming up. The anticipation is just too much...I can't help myself lol Which is exactly what I did with this chapter. And, in this case, it added an extra level of sadness to one of Mike's thoughts since I was, basically, reading it in retrospect. I knew that somehow Mike and Ches having sex in the piano room made it onto the YRS site so Mike thinking that Mark doesn't get all of them and only what they want to show him(something along those lines) was extra heart breaking. Just like...damn.


2.) The death threat being on camera...that just makes the whole situation even harder to get out of. I don't know how they could work arond that even with the help of Mike's parents. He wasn't being threatened or anything when he said it so self-defense isn't an option.


3.) It was really, really tough to see Mike submit to Mark. Really tough. I'm sure his response to Mark made things go a lot smoother than they would have if he'd responded in his usual way but still...that sucked.


4.) As for Mark making Jason put that video up? All I can say is...fuck Mark. Im really short on words otherwise. Not sure why I'm surprised because nothing he does should surprise me. He's such a scum bag. I really want to see karma come back around for him at some point.


5.) Now for Mike and Chester...Mike warning Chester that, if they don't get out of this, something will happen that they can't come back from was terrifying because it's 100% true. I'm hoping Mike's words will get through to Chester and motivate him to figure something out.


6.) I struggled hard with my feelings towards Jason in this chapter. I know he's just as much under Mark's control as the rest of them, if not more, but I had to keep reminding myself of that. My first instinct was to hate him mercilessly.


This chapter had me pretty fired up. I had to, like, actually calm down lol Anyway, another job well done. Please update soon!

From: Cissoye

Date: 2019-02-02

Chapter: 33

I had to go back to previous chapter to actually read the slash, haha. I tend to just skip it when I'm not in the mood but, damn, I HAD to read it after this last chapter. Holy hell, that was violent. I mean, I felt their distress and horror throughout the thing, which I have to congratulate you for (but I expect no less from you guys, so ;P).


On another note, I'm not even surprised. I mean, I think I'm a little too paranoid irl for my own good so I've been thinking of cameras since the beginning. I was like "took you long enough to even THINK about it" when Mike mentioned having cameras in the loft xD I guess I'm just not innocent and naive enough, lol.


I wonder how much of Ches and Mike's intimate moment Mark left for everyone to see, because by the end of last chapter Chester calls Mike "Mr Shinoda" which could be a problem. Same with the names, didn't they have porn names ? Did Mark just dropped them for the sake of fucking with them and making money ? Somehow, that just adds to the overall horrible situation, and I feel so fucking bad for them! For Mike who must feel so exposed and violated and for Chester who's so afraid of losing Mike and having all these people watch something so personal. This is just awful and I so hope Mike's desire to get away is the premise of them actually trying to get away.


Thanks for the little reminder about Chester's home situation and the fact he'd actually been groomed by Mark. I understand it's complicated for him to think of leaving but I feel like Mike is slowly getting closer to his breaking point and is letting Chester know more and more that they need to move and get away. I wouldn't want for Ches' mom to suffer the consequences, and with what Mark said about the death threat, I would hate him so much more if he fucked with Mike and Ches like that. I wouldn't think it past him to get Mike arrested by staging an attack or something, though.


On a brighter note, I was so happy to see Chester and Mike get close again after the evident distance between them at the beginning of last chap. It hurt to see the strain this shit put on their relationship and I was so glad it didn't last. But then this chapter happened, and the strain is showing again. I don't know how much more of all of this their relationship can take, and if they make it through together, they'll be such a strong couple! That's the "positive" note I'm grasping on xD


I have to say, I just love Mike/Mark scenes and I'm crossing my fingers for more confrontations and whatnot. I love hating this dude, he's making such a great bad guy!

I'm worried about what will happen next, because I feel like Mark got what he wanted, and by that I mean Mike's submission. I don't like that he submitted but I know he didn't have a choice and that's what is worrying me (in a good way xD). If Mark thinks he now have him under control, how far will he go ? I mean, I wouldn't be surprised if he tried to assert his power over him just because Mike had been such a pain to him for so long and because he still wants Chester for himself. And what better way to do that than scare Mike away and make it too much for him to stay despite loving Chester. Though I can't really see him abandoning Ches in this shit.

I'm just so impatient and curious about what's to come! I'm rooting for Bennoda, but at the same time, I'm a sucker for drama and angst so... I really love this fic (dunno if I've said that enough).


Anyway, I can't remember if I've asked this before (because I've asked it to other authors, but can't remember if I asked you guys) : do you have a posting schedule or are you just updating when new chapters are ready ? <--- That's my impatient and hyper eager side talking, cause I kinda need to know when to expect more awesomness from you guys!!


Okay, I'm done. I'll stop bugging you and just wait really (im)patiently for next chapter.


You guys rock!

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-02-02

Chapter: 33

I cannot, CANNOT, believe what Jason had done to both Chester and Mike... just reading that I felt violated that he would do such a thing, also off topic, this chapter made me really hungry for soup toward the end I know... Such an odd thing to say. I also can’t wait to see more of Noah’s character, seems really interesting ☺️

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-01-29

Chapter: 32

Loving that Jason and Mike are getting along now, and are able to talk to each other it simply does put a different speel to the story. Also nice to see Chester and Mike are making up, I just hope for their sake this story will be of a happy ending, one they both deserve 🙏🙏❤️

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-01-28

Chapter: 32

Great chapter, as always! I'm so glad that Mike and Chester made up after Chester had been so distant. It seems to me that i never can predict what will happen next in this story, which means you both are doing a hell of a good job writing this :)


Please update soon!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-01-26

Chapter: 32

First of all, you guys scared the shit out of me with the title of this chapter. I was thinking it would be something similar to "Upstairs Ultimatum" but it was actually the exact opposite and probably one of my favorite slash scenes ever but for totally unconventional reasons. I'll get back to that later.


The way this chapter started with all the distance between them and their physical relationship suffering, which, as you know, is something I've always feared, broke my heart :'( I was feeling all of that and so desperate for things to get better.


I meant to mention this in a review and forgot. Chester had been through all of this before so his strong negative reaction after that last encounter with Mark had me wondering what the difference was. The only difference really is that this all affects Mike now too. Chester could ignore it or shove aside his feelings when it just hurt him but it's hurting someone he loves now too which is a whole different thing. And I get that. I can so sympathize with that. Im glad Chester told Mike. Hopefully that gives Mike some insight as to why Chester had been so distant.


Now for that slash scene...again, one of my favorites ever, but not because of the usual Bennoda perv reasons :p lol It was them making love and I totally felt that the whole way through. Mike's relief that Chester was finally being initmate with him again and Chester finally able to let himself go there. *sighs* This sounds cheesy but it was truly beautiful. Im not really able to get all my feelings across the way I want to about that scene but Im beyond happy they had that moment. Im all for middle fingers to the YRS house as well ;)


Ive said this before but you have no idea how much I heart this story. I love the world you've created, even when it's not the easiest thing to read, and I couldn't love this Mike and Chester more. Thanks for writing it and I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter. :)

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-01-19

Chapter: 31

I'm glad that Jason had that conversation with Mike, it helped clarify a lot of things, helped Mike understand Jason a bit better, and see that he is another victim and not an enemy. And Jason owed Mike an apology, even if what has happened is not his fault, Mark utilized Jason to convince Mike to accept that contract with YRS. So on that end, I'm happy they were able to talk and are on the way of being in better terms.


Chester... I don't know what to think about Chester here, he is giving up.. and is not fair to Mike.. Mike has shown a lot of courage to protect his boyfriend, had sacrificed a lot of things, his job, his friends, he practically left his old life to live Chester's. That cannot be healthy for none of them. And I'm not saying Chester gave up easily because he is struggling, but he should at least try, if not for him at least for Mike. Dropping his karate class and starting to drink is not going to help at all. In that awful headspace he is in now, I wouldn't mind a black hair Chester.. it would actually fit. . So given the circumstances, black hair would be a good choice, can you just imagine Mark's face? Fucking asshole!!


I don't want Mike to keep suffering because of this terrible situation they are trapped in, they should work together in trying to find a way out of that mess. And Mike needs to understand that Jason and Ryan are their friends and want no bad to happen to them.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-01-16

Chapter: 31

Sorry for this late as hell review...anyway:


Wow, this was another great Chapter! I liked that Mike and Jason are getting along with each other better, even becoming friends.


I'm concerned about Chester: quitting karate and drinking are really bad signs, he needs Mike to help him out of his drinking problem! Sure, couples need time apart, but it he seems to be miserable, and they can only get out of there together.


Please update soon :)

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-01-15

Chapter: 31

Okay... That was a lot to take in again.


1.) Mike and Jason getting along a bit better and actually talking - that was so nice to see! I think it does Mike something good to become friends with Jason, he will feel better when they are at work!


2.) Jason being concerned about Ches and asking about him. Because he cares. Ok, he also feels guilty I guess, but what Marc does, is not his fault!


3.) Jason apologising for dragging Mike into it. Actually, I think Mike would have signed anyway, just to protect Ches. Someone else would have told him about what Marc does to the boys and he would have signed literally everything to protect his boyfriend. Still nice of Jason to say that he feels sorry. Maybe it helps him to deal with it a bit better.


4.) Jason and Ryan. Every time this comes up, I really need to hold my shit together because it makes me feel so sad. They deserve to be happy! No-one should be separated from the person they love and life in fear because they feel in love...


5.) Chester... Quitting Karate was a stupid idea! Even though he feels defeated and he froze when Marc forced him to his knees - it's not a reason to just give up on it. Having a hobby helps and if it's a hove that teaches you self-defence it's even better. There are other people out there and feeling safe around them helps! He really shouldn't have left the class.


6.) Joe being concerned was a cute thing. He really cares about his friend and he knows that things are off. Maybe he can talk to Ches (and Mike?) and convince him to come back?


7.) Mike and Ches... As much as I liked the last part, as much did I hate it! It's good that Chester started talking and opening up because he as obviously not ok. But it's also heartbreaking to see him like that. And I can feel Mike's heart breaking as well, not only mine! He feels the urge to protect Ches and I think he blames himself a little bit as well that he didn't stick around Ches. But he shouldn't. Marc is an asshole and Mike can't be around 24/7. He wants to but he can't and it wouldn't be a healthy relationship either.


8.) The drinking. Seriously... Ches needs to stop that. It's not going to help! Alcohol is not solving problems but creating more. I really hope that he realises that. And that Mike only wants to help him. He is annoyed that Mike was annoyed by the beer but this time Mike is right!

From: angieliveshere

Date: 2019-01-14

Chapter: 31

I have been reading this since day one but couldn’t figure out my log in, and finally I am able to get in to tell you both just how much I hate Mark and what he is doing to both Chester and Mike. . . Just wow he is a creep! And I don’t like him x( loving this story so far with the drama and smut in it

From: Cissoye

Date: 2019-01-14

Chapter: 31

I have no idea how far you've planned to take this (by that I mean the situation between Mark/Chester/Mike). Mark seems to get worse (which Jason said himself if I'm not mistaken -sorry, I read the chap when it was posted and my memory isn't that fresh, but I'll try my best ;P) and I don't want Chester to get hurt again. He's having it real bad here and you can feel the rocks in the relationship with Mike. Not that they don't love each other anymore or anything, but all these problems and situations are taking their toll and I so wanted Mike and Ches to run away to Mike's parents! They need to get outta here and living at Mark and Jason's loft isn't gonna help do that.


Which makes me wonder, don't they have the money to get something for themselves ? Chester mentioned it here, like living in a crappy place, but I'm sure if he talked about this with Mike, he would rather go live in a smaller and less fancy place if it meant getting away from Mark a little. I'm sure the asshole wouldn't accept it and make their life harder by asking for the past rent and shit, but man I want them to at least cut some ties with the guy (and living for free in his loft isn't helping do that).


This thing has no easy out and I can't wait to see where it'll go. I'm always excited about more scenes at YRS, and I enjoy all of this drama and whatnot, but I really hope Bennoda gets their happy ending or something.


But we're not there yet (I hope!) and I really liked the conversation with Jason and Mike. They're getting closer and it's good that Mike is finding allies and friends at YRS. I did get a lil worried when Mike mentioned Ryan leaving with maybe Jason, because I hadn't thought about the fact Ches and Mike could lose the little support they have at YRS which would make their life there even worse. So I hope they get to figure something out soon (or get Mark arrested or something) so they can live a better life.


As always, awesome update! Hope to hear from you guys soon (because you've got me hooked which isn't nice).


;)

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-01-14

Chapter: 31

No, no, no, no....I can't take Chester like this. :'( I just can't. I was so hoping we'd see a happy Chester again with this update. Maybe that was wishful thinking but still...I need him to feel better. Him quitting karate and the drinking? All very bad signs. Chester is in such a bad place mentally and emotionally, and Mike as well, that I really can't imagine what a toll the next time will take on both of them. Especially if it's worse and/or Mike doesn't get there in time, etc..


For whatever reason, I wasn't liking this "time apart" for Ches and Mike. In a normal situation I'm all for it and I do think it's a healthy thing for couples. But, in this situation, with everything else going on, it just felt like another bad sign. :(


Im so glad Mike had the balls to call what Mark does with the guys rape. It may not be rape in the sense of how violent rape is usually thought to be but it's far from consensual. None of the guys would be sexually involved with Mark under any other circumstances.


I like that Jason and Mike talked. The other guys at YRS aren't his enemies and I like that he's slowly starting to realize that. Oh, and I hope Ryan does slug Mark when he leaves.


On a brighter note...at the mention of Chester with black hair, my mind went straight to his look from the Live in Texas DVD, and I'm perfectly okay with that lol I loved that look on him. Pure deliciousness ;)

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-01-07

Chapter: 30

To sum up all my reviews in one, Mark is an asshole. I love Mike and Chester together off screen and on screen, this is purely love :)

Reviews 101 to 120 of 259