LPfiction

Reviews

roommates. by frostfall

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-24

Chapter: 15

I agree with lpfan503 - let them kiss!! Have some mercy on these boys!! My gosh. In the bathroom. I thought for sure. They. Were. Right. There. and then - well, we know what happened. Which was funny in its own right, but dammit, man! I wanted a kiss more than I wanted to laugh.


The dancing part was great. And I won't bother with bringing up the second almost kiss. But I love their chemistry and you can see it growing and coming together so tightly. It's beautiful. A slow romance brewing under the surface.


Anna seems nice (and Rob!) but yeah, not sure why Mike cares so much. They should have done Chester's idea and headed off to eat popcorn and watch B-rated movies. I LOVE B-rated movies.


Can't wait to see what happens next...hope there will be some actual kissing soon :D

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-21

Chapter: 14

You are absolutely KILLING me with these almost kisses. I mean. Holy Hell. I can't stand it. LET THEM KISS.


I love MB20, I have since they started. However, I absolutely hate that song because of some drama attached to it. Anyway, it works in your story (you may want to go through and check you italics, though, something got off somewhere) and I just want them to kiss, damnit. Their back and forth over Chester's running clothes had me smiling like an idiot. It was just so cute. LET THEM KISS. When they finally get around to it, it will be the most epic kiss of all times, I just know it.


Btw, what's the deal with Anna? I don't get why Mike even cares to be around these people. Oh, and LET THEM KISS.

From: Yassim

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 14

Ok, I stayed up waaaaaaay too late last night reading this, so I was basically incoherent and wouldn't have been able to leave a decently written review ;)


I am totally loving this. SO MUCH. Like you have no idea. It's like when you get something you never knew you wanted and you're just like, OMG THIS IS PERFECT. Is this too much allcaps??? Oh well. I love you. I love this story. I can't wait for me <3 <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-10

Chapter: 14

haha when Chester corrected them with "boyfriend" I about died!! Like, holy crap! No you didn't! But he did.


I loved this line: Objectively, he’s pretty cute. But not enough to justify leaving Mike for.


lol cracked me up.


I can totally relate to why this chapter was so hard to work on. People like that are so hurtful and infuriating. I think Chester handled it all really well...even when he let it slip, he did a good job. Especially the ending. And Mike did too. I'm curious now to hear more about his high school years/past and if that's what brought him to the place he is now...being so introverted and such.


I'm glad Anna isn't like these other assholes. *sigh* what a chapter! For what it's worth, I think you did a great job with it. The pacing was great and so was the dialogue. I loved the small moment when Mike put his hand on Chester's leg under the table and when Chester called him "babe" LOL my heavens.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-09

Chapter: 14

Oh, god, please tell me that you are going to tell us what Mike's fetishes are. Because. Yes.


I also hope you're gonna tell us why Mike is even at this wedding. There's no way I'd go watch my ex get married. Especially since it seems there's something about their breakup- that Mike didn't want it- that makes me wonder why Anna would torture him by wanting him there. Seriously. I need to know what happened between them.


Something about the way Mike tells Chester not to stick ups for him, while not making eye contact, was very powerful. I liked that exchange, it was very well written. The whole scene with Kyle was written well, I could feel the tension. I was nervous when Mike stood up for himself, and for Chester... and what he said about Chester, he really means all of that, doesn't he? Ugh. I just love this story. I am glad Chester kept his cool and anxious to see what their conversation is like when Chester catches up with Mike. I have to say I'm really hoping for a back up against the wall full on passionate make out session! Seems like a logical way to deal with all the complicated repressed feelings Mike has for Chester!

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-05-09

Chapter: 14

Oh. My. God.

Kyle.

What an ASSHOLE!


I never understood why some people had such a problem with homosexuality. After all, we are all just people, right? What does it matter with who you wall in love with? Why is it such a big deal?


But Kyle isn't just homophobic, he is also racist, close-minded and overall completely retarted. And I was so happy when Mike had finally speak his mind. But it's interesting it took Kyle to insulting Chester to make Mike throw away his mask. I guess he is just so used to being insulted himself, that he doesn't even feel the need to protect himself. But protecting a friend is a must for him.


Him and Chester are good team. Maybe they are not actually boyfriends, but they are really good friends. Nothing is more important that friends that stand beside you when you need them the most.


I'm curious about the first interaction with Anna. It seems that Mike still hadn't fully got over her? He definitely has some unresolved feelings for her, that much was obvious. And why did she even invite him to her wedding? Not that it's not nice to see a divorced couple still being on good terms. But still, it's weird.


I can't wait for the next update.

From: hattu

Date: 2018-05-03

Chapter: 13

Fake dating…speak about Denail here…

When you can’t stop thinking about the other, when you leave tiny cute messages, maybe it is time to face your feelings!!!!


Had to laugh hard, about the fact that Chester is impressed by mike simply knowing how to drive :))


Loved it!

Can’t wait to read more!

Hattu

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-01

Chapter: 13

I understand Chester's frustration with the tie. I have a teenage son who is at that age where he wants to wear "real" ties to dances and not clip ons. Thank the good Lord for Youtube. And Chester's slip up...you look fuckable lol yes, that is the best compliment :) I'm glad Mike took it and didn't flip out.


Their drive was painfully slow and that's exactly how LA traffic is, slow! It takes freakin' forever to get anywhere! I'm glad that Mike is asking about things and even gave Chester some compliments :) their slow burn is so nicely done and they're so close!! I'm bouncing to see them get to the point of being "real" boyfriends. At least, I hope they will be :) Super curious to see how Anna's character will be in this.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-01

Chapter: 13

"You look fuckable."


Well, if that's not the understatement of all time when it comes to Mike Shinoda, I don't know what is... damn. Just perfect. They are so closely toeing the line in this chapter and I LOVE it!! Mike tying the tie and his fingers brushing Chester's neck is so sexy... and the whole conversation about Chester thinking Mike likes guys in ties but then Mike finally steps up and says he likes his guys without ties--- OMG! OMG! Just admit you're hot for each other, DAMN!! Lol. They are driving me crazy but the sexual tension you write is just delicious.


So- why did Mike react to Chester's champagne bottle confession in such an extreme way? PTSD of some other relationship? Is this why he's so guarded? I just really want to know why Mike is the way his is... and I hope you have plans to tell us. In addition to plans for them to hook up because- omg how hot is that going to be???


Love, love, love this: "He can play the piano and he can pass through a video game level without swearing. He can whip up a mean macaroni and cheese and he can sketch out amazing portraits.

And he can drive. He can fucking drive." LOVE. There are so many reason to love Mike, and Chester's got it bad. I want to understand Mike! He tugs at my heart so much! I cannot wait for the next chapter.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-24

Chapter: 12

Fake dating. Oh, Mike. At least it's only one time and it's not like Chester and Talinda where it was continuous. But come on, Chester, give it up and admit you like him :) I mean, he's on top of you and you get hard, yeah, I'd say there's something there *wink*


I LOVE that they leave messages to each other lol I'm sure I've said that before, but I need to repeat it. I LOVE it. And I think Talinda is my favorite side character in this story, which is a first for me. I adore the way you've done her and her little Spanish snippets. You've done that very well. And her relationship with Chester is just precious.


I think Mike might be in a bit of denial about his feelings for Chester, too. Have they discussed their sexuality in this story? I can't remember..obviously Chester was married to a woman and use to date Talinda, has there been a mention of him dating a guy before? And Mike dated Anna, but has he mentioned a guy? I can't remember, but it doesn't seem like there has been. idk, not that it matters, just my brain rolling around possible outcomes of all this lol


Gosh, I can't imagine Anna being as evil as Sam, but I guess we'll find out. I'm so curious to see how it will play out. And at least they don't have to hold hands and kiss, that really could have gotten awkward. And yet, I'd like to see it. I'm just bad that way.


Update soon!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-04-22

Chapter: 11

Dang. I was really hoping that Mike was being legit. Though this fake dating thing seems as thought it could turn into something more, given the way they both reacted to Mike falling on Chester on the bed. lololol! That and the whole fingers thing from the last chapter, and it's so obvious they both want each other. Can I just say I'm really excited to see where this all ends up? It's the slowest burn ever and it's so delicious. (And again, I LOVE the style you write with. Just love it.)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 11

Yes, the answer is yes! And another yes. And maybe a yes on top :)

The chapter made my emotions going into all directions. Concerned, happy, sad, anxious... I was afraid that Mike would be mad when he finds out that Chester talked to Joe and Dave. But luckily it turned out good. Now I'm curious about Chesters answer. And if he is a bottom :P

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-11

Chapter: 11

So Mike asked him! I'm excited :D Really hoping Chester will say yes :) Not sure about Ann, or why she made Mike so upset, but I love Chester's concern. Joe was hilarious at the bar lol why didn't Chester just buy him a drink instead? But he's a good friend for ultimately not spilling Mike's personal business to the highest bidder. I respect that.


Now I can't wait to find out what Chester will say...I really can't imagine him saying no. But then again, they're roommates, so that could end badly if the relationship doesn't work out.

From: hattu

Date: 2018-04-08

Chapter: 10

Thank you for an enjoyable afternoon! I stumble over good stories when their halfway down the line!


I really like your Mike and Ches in this. Their food religion cracks me up ;)

After everything I was expecting Mike to spill the beans whatever or whoever Ann is, but to have him actual asking to he his boyfriend was unexpected … I would have expected an accidental kss in a pillow fight, but this was unexpected:) liked it.


Please keep going, want to see where this going!


Thanks!

Hattu

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-04-08

Chapter: 10

Boyfriend? BOYFRIEND???!!!!!!

What the hell is going on in Mike's head? :O


Okay, it's not totally unexpected, given how weird was Mike acting. That call with Brad, blushing while talking about 'nimble fingers' (Mike sucks at giving compliments btw :D) and so on. But still... asking so bluntly about that. And it's also obvious that he was able to talk about that simply because it was middle of the night and competely dark. Reminds me of myself. I admire people who are able to talk about some inner serious issues in the crude daylight. :/


I'm curious what will be Chester's response. :D

From: Cyanide_Caution

Date: 2018-04-07

Chapter: 10

Absolutely amazing!!!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-04-07

Chapter: 10

I wish I could put my finger on exactly what it is about your writing that I love so much. Your delivery of these two just gets to my heart, in everything you've written. I was so excited to wake up to this update!


Joe is so irritating in this, in a lovable way. I really wanted him to give more info on Ann, but that's okay. I know we'll find out more later. I didn't connect Mike's phone call with Brad to the fact that he'd told Brad he liked Chester until I read this a second time, but I assume that's what happened. And that telling Brad he liked Chester was the 'bad thing' he did.


Ok, this scene on the couch, I fucking loved. From Mike's blunt 'you're not putting them in me' to the unresolved sexual tension at the end when they could have kissed, this is written so well and so realistically. Mike is so interesting to me in this story because he's so... emotionally wounded. I love how there are moments he lets his guard down, but then just as fast he throws those walls back up. Stalking away at the end of the scene is exactly perfect.


I admit I squealed with joy at the last line of this chapter. This also seems so in character for this Mike. It had to be on his terms, while the other person was off-guard, in the dark where he could hide, and then just totally blunt about it. I don't know, this review sucks, haha, I just want to fangirl all over it but I'm trying to be a little more constructive than that. This Mike just does me in... I'm a Mike girl anyway, but the intense vulnerability of your Mike just does something to me. I love him. I love this story on the same level that I love "so you hit the lights..." which should be shouted from the rooftops and on everyone's favorite list because it is so emotionally touching. Maybe that's it- your writing is just so emotional. Anyway, it's obvious I loved this chapter, I can't wait to see Chester's response. <3

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-03-30

Chapter: 10

The change in POV was a good idea. Especially since it looks like there will be some Mike angst?

Mike having a panic attack? I was used to see him struggle with social interactions, but that was different, that was just simple uncomfort. Not a full on panic attack. I guess that Ann is Mike's ex-wife and he has some kind of a trauma from their marriage? Or she broke up with him in some ugly fashion? I will let you surprise me. Thanks for the update.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-03-29

Chapter: 10

I love this story! Grumpy Mike is a great character and until now I kind of enjoyed making fun of him being the way he is. Right now, after the last chapter, I'm more concerned about him - and super grateful for Chester being there for him, being a friend and taking care. Hugging him, speaking to him. And of course I'm curious what happened, because haven't a panic-attack after a phone-call is not normal. Not even for the Mike in this story :D

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-03-27

Chapter: 10

I like that you changed the POV. I think that will add an interesting twist to this and we get to hear Chester's thoughts :) I love that he's obsessed with the cereal. Everyone needs at least one obsession. And chocolate cereal is pretty hard to beat. Plus, you're left with a bowl of chocolate milk at the end, so it's always a double win!


I'm glad to see Mike opening up and even to the point of leaning on Chester during his panic attack. I, like Chester, wonder what was said during that convo....hope you're going to tell us!


And now I'm all caught up. Great story so far, I'm excited for more! I really adore all the characters you've created, you've mapped them out really well.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 67